We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 28 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a 3 night stay at this lovely B&B. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruit and juice, followed by a full English, toast and preserves with tea and coffee. We were looked after wonderfully by Rachel who cooked our breakfast and cleaned our room every day. Ideally situated for walking in the countryside but also close enough to walk into town for a meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
75
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Being a stickler for detail it is very rare when staying five star or otherwise that I can find no fault. However my stay at Candlewyck was impossible to fault. The welcome was incredibly warm without being intrusive, the accommadation a delight, furniture and furnishings of the highest quality, the attention to detail the best I have experienced. Beautiful location, ideal for touring the Lake District. To top it off the bacon for breakfast had only 100 yds of food miles. Delicious!! Would recommend without hesitation. Impossible to beat.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our third time staying in the barn at Candlewyck and we won't stay anywhere else when we visit family in Cumbria. Everything was amazing again and we really didn't want to leave. We loved the new armchair and day bed which are very confortable and the Sedbergh Soap Co toiletries are lovely. Breakfast was amazing as usual and although we had a busy time seeing family we have come home feeling well rested. Sam is a great host and this was our first time meeting Rachel who was very friendly and looked after us very well. See you in 2014!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend with friends, Sam the owner is really friendly you are immediately made to feel welcome and fresh coffee on arrival was appreciated. The rooms in the house are beautiful, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, with extremely comfortable beds. Finally the breakfasts are fantastic, really tasty and made using fresh local produce. Thanks Sam we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solihullshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Took my wife and young son (3) to candlewyck for my wifes birthday. Cant praise it enough, great location, lovely room (we stayed in the barn, ideal for families). To top all that of is the breakfast. Will definitely visit again!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank luntylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We are just back from our wonderful break at Candlewyke and loved every minute of it. The setting is perfect and the house gorgeous. We stayed inside the house in one of the spotlessly clean rooms with a lovely huge bathroom that had both bath and a walk in shower, the quality toiletries available in there along with the fluffy white towels and gowns were a lovely touch too! Sam the owner is a wonderful hostess and nothing is too much trouble for her, she even went and got us a Chinese Takeaway on one of the nights we were there and booked us into the best local pub restaurant for the first night of our stay, the food was terrific! Talking of terrific food the breakfast at Candlewyke is to die for! The ingredients are all organic and cooked on the Aga freshly in front of you, we were impressed with the sausages that were made from Candlewyke's own pigs and bought a pack to take home with us! We can't speak highly enough of this place and hope to return again before Christmas and take our son with us next time! We give you a 5***** rating..... Thanks Sam for everything :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Candlewyk is an idyllic venue. We stayed in the barn room that easily accommodated us and our 3 children whilst still appearing large and airy. The decor and contents of the room meet the 'luxury' definition and made us feel very indulged.
Rachel looked after us very well during our stay, bringing an amazing, locally produced, breakfast each morning and even a bunch of flowers from the garden on our anniversary!
It was a short drive each day for days out in the lakes, really a perfect place to stay. We can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: For romantic nights or stress-free times with kids the barn is excellent as breakfast is brought to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanandAndrew2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
0.6 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#1 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#10 of 28 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Horse Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#13 of 28 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Address: Candlewyck Old Hall Road, Ulverston LA12 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Candlewyck Barn Bed And Breakfast Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing