We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B with your own space”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A B&B with your own space”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Candlewyck Barn is simply fantastic. From it's location (a short walk into Ulverston), the independent stylish space it offers (no chintz here) and amazing breakfasts. If you are searching for something a bit more modern and private than your average B&B, look no further.

Room Tip: The Barn was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
81
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Candlewyck is a simply wonderful B&B. The stand alone room is perfect for those wanting a little extra privacy/independence. The rooms in the main house are lovely too. In either case, it's a home from home. The attention to detail cannot be faulted. The rooms have everything you need from a TV & DVD player to luxury toiletries & sumptuous towels. The breakfast is amazing - not greasy, filling and with minimal food miles. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to write a quick entry about our experience with Sam at Candlewyck even before we have got there. This week my wife and I decided to embark on arranging accomodation along The Cumbria Way.We started at Candlewyck due to its glowing reports. My wife made a booking for one night at a cost of £85 and we wrote the cheque out.The following morning we received an answerphone message stating the cost was £105 as it had been realised it was a bank holiday.We were somewhat disappointed and cancelled via e mail. Within moments Sam had replied apologising for any confusion. The price of £85 has been accepted without hesitation as a show of good faith. In this day and age who could ask for better customer service then that. I have no doubt that Sam would have been able to rent this room out at the higher price and this shows great fortitude. We cannot wait for our stay and I have little doubt we shall be following this entry with another wonderful one about Candlewyck itself.




Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a 3 night stay at this lovely B&B. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruit and juice, followed by a full English, toast and preserves with tea and coffee. We were looked after wonderfully by Rachel who cooked our breakfast and cleaned our room every day. Ideally situated for walking in the countryside but also close enough to walk into town for a meal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Being a stickler for detail it is very rare when staying five star or otherwise that I can find no fault. However my stay at Candlewyck was impossible to fault. The welcome was incredibly warm without being intrusive, the accommadation a delight, furniture and furnishings of the highest quality, the attention to detail the best I have experienced. Beautiful location, ideal for touring the Lake District. To top it off the bacon for breakfast had only 100 yds of food miles. Delicious!! Would recommend without hesitation. Impossible to beat.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our third time staying in the barn at Candlewyck and we won't stay anywhere else when we visit family in Cumbria. Everything was amazing again and we really didn't want to leave. We loved the new armchair and day bed which are very confortable and the Sedbergh Soap Co toiletries are lovely. Breakfast was amazing as usual and although we had a busy time seeing family we have come home feeling well rested. Sam is a great host and this was our first time meeting Rachel who was very friendly and looked after us very well. See you in 2014!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenjones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend with friends, Sam the owner is really friendly you are immediately made to feel welcome and fresh coffee on arrival was appreciated. The rooms in the house are beautiful, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, with extremely comfortable beds. Finally the breakfasts are fantastic, really tasty and made using fresh local produce. Thanks Sam we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solihullshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
6.3 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
259 reviews
4.9 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
243 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 7 in Ulverston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Address: Candlewyck Old Hall Road, Ulverston LA12 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Candlewyck Barn Bed And Breakfast Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing