We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We received an exceptionally warm welcome to this very high quality B&B quietly located on the outskirts on Ulverston but within easy walking of the Town Centre with good shopping and lots of pubs and restaurants.
Off street parking, Local walking in lovely surroundings and good as a touring base for the Lakes area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the accommodation is very high quality
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
There are newer reviews for Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife & I stayed for 2 nights in May 2014. We stayed in The Barn accommodation which is reached up a flight of stairs, just a few yards from main house. On entering as I trailed with the luggage I heard a loud "Wow" from my wife! The Barn is an extremely spacious room, light and airy, has setee/sofa bed, and is extremely clean throughout. Sam is an great host and the furnishings and decoration show off her excellent choice of style and taste. Excellent power shower in the en suite and top quality complimentary shampoo, conditioner, etc. Plentiful supply and choice of teas/coffee and there was a little fridge in the room for milk, etc. Also WiFi was appreciated.
There is a dining table & chairs in the room and this is where breakfast is served to the room! Choice of cereals and fruit, and the "Full English" (including bacon & sausage from the farm's pigs) was excellent as were the bread & home made jams.
Sam recommended Farmers Arms in the town for dinner and even booked a table for us - we had excellent meal there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnEastGrinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a one night stay in the barn whilst visiting family in the area. Sam was very welcoming and the room itself could have been featured in a homes and gardens magazine. Lots of attention to detail, comfy bed, cosy day bed and great shower (always a big plus in my book). The breakfast was served to the room and everything was very tasty and freshly cooked. A lovely base, would have been nice to have been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyJane9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Candlewyck Barn is a wonderful home from home luxurious accommodation. I have stayed at Candlewyck as a long term base for my work and Sam and Rachael made me feel welcome from day 1, now 8 months later I feel like one of the family! It's location 1 mile from Ulverston and its many pubs, restaurants and takeaways makes it a perfect base for the rest of the Lakes. The accommodation is spotlessly clean with luxurious bedding and the fabulous bathroom accessories which Sam loves to spoil her guests with! Breakfasts are wonderful although I limit the full breakfasts to a treat...yummy. If you are looking for a B&B that has something special look no further, highly recommended.
Andrea W

Room Tip: The Barn is great if your a family but the rooms in the house are great if your travelling alone
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a great place to start your walk or even if you are just visiting this lovely area. Situated one mile into the walk, purists may like to go back to Ulverston proper to start the way, but a stay at the accomodation is well worth it. Great accommodation in the barn, really friendly owner, super breakfast;a perfect start. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Sorry no swimming pool I just clicked everything!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iannchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We just came back for a long weekend break at the Lakes.
We chose Candlewyck for our base and it was such a good choice.
Sam's house is beautiful and cozy. She has pigs and horses in her backyard and a lovely garden.
Morning's fry ups are the best we've ever had, everything from locally sourced farms.
The location is at the end of a very quiet road in the small town of Ulverston and the Lakes are about a 15-20 minute drive.

I would highly recommend Candlewyck if you are looking for somewhere quiet and chic and homely.
Perfect combination away from the hustle and bustle of Windermere or Ambleside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Candlewyck Barn is simply fantastic. From it's location (a short walk into Ulverston), the independent stylish space it offers (no chintz here) and amazing breakfasts. If you are searching for something a bit more modern and private than your average B&B, look no further.

Room Tip: The Barn was brilliant.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.2 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
93 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Chetwynde Hotel
The Chetwynde Hotel
#6 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#11 of 26 in Ulverston
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 8 in Ulverston
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewyck Barn Bed and Breakfast

Address: Candlewyck Old Hall Road, Ulverston LA12 7DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range: £65 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Candlewyck Barn Bed And Breakfast Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing