We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
184
4
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
4
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseorganic toiletriessausagelovely bathroom productsluxurious stayrolling countrysideunique shopsbig comfy bedchurrascohighest qualityspacious roomsmall fridgejust returned from a night staysuited us perfectlystar serviceeach morninglake district
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Myself and my wife Tam and our 4 year old daughter Anya stayed on 18th and 19th February. Sam the owner was there to greet us, when we arrived and looked after us really well throughout our stay. The accommodation was fantastic, set away from the main town. We stayed in the family room, situated in the barn. The attention to detail was amazing. On our first morning we awoke to a lovely vista of the hills that had been given a light dusting of snow during the night. A short walk had you in the heart of Ulverston. We did taxi it back as Anya was tired but £3.00 was all that was charged, on both occasions.
If you are staying in Ulverston, in the near future then you must book this accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete030666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Me and my wife together with our 16 months old twins stayed at Candlewyck for three nights checking in on the 11th November, we stayed in the studio barn.
I found this B / B on trip advisor with good reviews and I can honestly say all the reviews were right. Sam the lady who runs this place was very friendly and helpful.
The studio is very spacious and well equipped with everything you need, including fridge with fresh milk for drinks, large bed, futon, tv, DVD player, and the studio has a large power shower.
The cleanliness of the studio is of a very high standard, which was important to us.
The breakfast is also of a very high standard (other reviews have stated how good the breakfast is) and the reviews are not wrong, this breakfast sets you up for the day.
The location is very good, in a quiet area and only a few minutes from the town centre.
In summary I would certainly stay here again with my family in the future and would also recommend this place to other visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Charming welcome from Sam and made to feel at home immediately.
Nothing was too much for her at any time.
Room was excellent., breakfasts better than excellent! All food locally sourced, particularly the sausages - Sam breeds the pigs on site ( not in the same building we hasten to add!).
We would not hestitate to stay at Candlewyck again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birkrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Excellent quiet rural location just 5 mins walk from town. Large comfortable room which is separate from main house. Views over the countryside. Friendly host. Excellent breakfast. Basically what everyone else has said!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Me, my husband and 2 children came up for Ulverston Lantern Festival and found this on good old Trip Advisor. The previous reviews sounded great so thought we'd try it out. A beautifully converted barn - one big room with table and chairs, large bed, futon, tv, DVD player (with large selection of DVD's), small fridge and a beautiful ensuite bathroom. Sam couldn't have been friendlier, nor her dad! Breakfast was brought to us - fresh melon, cereals, fruit juice, toast, local jam and marmalade, cooked breakfast and fresh coffee - yum! Had a great weekend, despite the rain! Will definitely stay again when we're next up in the Lakes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skatergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews