We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Ranked #7 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
West Bromwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed overnight at a weekend in November, and met up with friends. The pub is situated just south of Coniston and is a good base for the Lakes and surrounding areas. There are lovely panoramic views across countryside to the rear. Inside, lots of original features give plenty of atmosphere and character.

The room (3) was spotless, lovely and warm (as was the rest of the pub) and extremely well supplied with hot drink facilities and toiletries.

The food was excellent. We had lunch on arrival (baguettes) which came with a generous fresh salad plus coleslaw, and was delicious. We met up with friends for dinner; there was plenty of choice, including a specials board, the portion sizes were generous and the food fresh, well cooked and presented. There was also an excellent choice of drinks and real ales. We had full English for breakfast the next day, which was included in the room price, and again the food couldn’t be faulted.

Angus, Debra and the team were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay – excellent hospitality and service. This was our first stay here, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    65
    24
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
105
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We sayed on the sat night 16th Nov 13. We arrived at lunch time our friends had already arived we had a light lunch I had a ham sandwitche which was the real thing very taste love the salad trimming as well.
In the afternoon we had a stroll around Ulverston which was my first visit loved the quaint shops and narrow streets also saw the old Hartleys brewery.
In the evening we had dinner in the hotel and again I was not disapoined the food was exellent all the products were fresh and there was a board with specials off the day on it.
We stayed in room 5 which was nice a cosy with a large bathroom the room was also warm.
The breakfast was very good loved the full Engish plenty of coffee as well.

This was our third stay at the Farmers Arms it is still as enjoyable as ever Angus and Debs made us feel very welcome it is also a popular pub with the locals as well..

The location of the pub is good it is not far from Coniston and is also handy for Barrow and the west coast of Cumbria plus the Lakeside on Wndermere.

Look in forward to our next next visit to the Farmers Arms.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickracer077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

New owners here have turned this place round. The food is really good and the service is excellent, very friendly and welcoming. Also pool table area for the young people. Really nice pub just watch out for the low beams.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed the night just recently. It was comfortable, warm and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is a lovely building set in the south of the Lake District.

I had a single room next to the bathroom and there was tea and coffee and a TV set. The room was clean and comfortable. Soap, towels, shampoo etc were provided.

I ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food is first class as is the menu. Breakfast is at 8am and I was in place on time as I had to leave early. I was served with an excellent full English breakfast and had eaten and was away by 8.15am.

Cannot fault the hotel and will be returning.

The purpose of my visit was to visit the South Lakes Wild Animal Park at Dalton in Furness and the hotel is ideally situated for this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thorpe willoughby
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Had a pleasant stay at the farmers arms. This was our 3rd stay after finding it on the internet 3years ago. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Stayed in room 3. The only problem was the big windows that looked onto and over to the opposite buildings which meant having to close the curtains when using the bath room.

Bar staff friendly and very helpful. Main reason for our stay was the excellent food. A good seletion to choose from and plenty of food when it arrives.

Despite being in the middfle of nowhere the main road is quite busy even during the night. Had a full english for breakfast. Very filling breakfast and a good selection if you want something healthy.

The exit from the car park is on a blind bend on a hill so be aware when leaving.

This is a great place to chill out and relax if you don't plan to do anything with some wonderful scenery.

We will visit again and have recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: They cater for single visitors as well as couples. If your a light sleeper it might be worth finding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I went here on Saturday night with a friend after hearing great reviews. It was warm and welcoming inside, not a huge menu but still something for everyone, food was lovely and very good quality and filling. Some meals have 2 prices next to them so you can choose your portion size via this, I opted for the large fish & chips, think i will go smaller next time so i can fit a dessert in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaisieMooD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Have just returned from a lovely weekend in the Lakes, staying at the Farmers Arms. This is reputed as being one of the oldest pubs in the Lakes. Staff were very friendly, and the food was good old fashioned fayre, with some lovely daily specials, the portions were plentiful, and had to force down the lovely Chocolate lumpy bumpy....:) Breakfast too was very good, lots of choices for a cooked, and very nicely cooked. My husband had the kippers, they were lovely. Our room, was quite large and although the view not good, but hey, the room was only for sleeping and changing. I must say that bed was one of the comfiest we had slept in, my husband wanted to bring it home.!! Would stay here again, if we were ever in this part of the lakes again.

Room Tip: Room 2 was over the public bar, but this is a pub, and it was quiet when we went to bed, so if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
4.2 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
75 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
92 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
506 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#3 of 8 in Ulverston
43 reviews
1.7 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#5 of 26 in Ulverston
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farmers Arms Lowick Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farmers Arms Lowick Green

Property: The Farmers Arms Lowick Green
Address: Lowick Green | Lowick Green, Ulverston LA12 8DT, England (Formerly The Farmers Arms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Farmers Arms Lowick Green 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Lake Disrtict National park. The Farmers Arms dates back to 1360 retaining many of its original features. Relax after a day of site seeing or a long business trip in the bar with its original oak beams and open log fire. Enjoy a drink and home cooked meal in the atmosphere of the Old Inn. Coniston and Windermere are only a 10min drive away. Visit the market town Ulverton with its cobbled streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Farmers Arms Lowick Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Farmers Arms Lowick Green Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing