We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Room 307 At All Costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lonsdale House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ulverston
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Avoid Room 307 At All Costs”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed 11/12/2012 in the middle of winter.

I booked a double room (Double bed) for 3 nights mid week. The room I was allocated was a twin (two singles). There was a portable heater already switched on when I entered the room, this was because the radiators in the room & bathroom didn't work. I knew this because there were signs on them saying Out of order, Do not use. The room itself was very basic and dated. The flat screen TV was no bigger than my laptop screen so I didn't bother turning it on.

The bathroom was absolutely freezing. No toiletries. The shower was nice and big and worked well. There was only one small bath towel. The towels couldn't dry because the radiators didn't work so I couldn't have a shower in the morning. The extractor fan in the bathroom wouldn't turn off so I went to jam my tooth brush in it but had second thoughts when I noticed how filthy the fan was.

The free internet in the rooms that they advertise on their website doesn't work.

The room that the Hotel shows on there website doesn't resemble anything like room 307.

Breakfast was OK and staff efficient.

There is a sign downstairs displaying: Restaurant closed until further notice due to unforeseen circumstances.

I mentioned all of these problems to the receptionist, who I might add was really nice and friendly, but couldn't move me rooms as the hotel was fully booked. I told her that I would be checking out in the morning because of all the issues and she totally understood.

There is a pay & display car park directly opposite that you have to use at your own cost.

I am doing the Hotel a favour by only rating it a Poor. The only reason I am not rating it a Terrible is because the young receptionist with the red hair was lovely and tried her best to help.

No apology from the the old dear on reception whilst checking out the following morning.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 307. You have been warned :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    27
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
27
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I recently stayed overnight at this hotel in Ulverston. The room was lovely with a four poster bed and I really wished that I could have spent longer. The hotel staff were very friendly and hepful and I would well recommend this hotel to anyone who is a single traveller.

Room Tip: Try a four poster room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We were made very welcome by the friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. The room was clean and comfortable and there was a delightful garden guests could sit out in - weather permitting! The hotel was perfectly situated for Ulverston town centre - easy public car parking directly opposite the hotel. Breakfast was nicely cooked. We would love to return one day!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Lonsdale House Hotel in Ulverston was recommended to me as the nicest place to stay in town. The owners Cath and Brian are especially nice. My room was on the ground floor and was just great. I stayed here in February 2012, on one of the coldest nights of the year, and my room was lovely and warm.
I paid £70 including breakfast. They do have a restaurant, but the chef was ill, so it was closed for a day or two whilst he recovered. This was not a problem, because within a few seconds walk, were quite a few places to eat and drink. The hotel is behind the large stone cross at one end of the high street, parking is easy, there is a pay and display car park directly opposite, and you can pre pay and buy a ticket the night before for the morning, as the parking charges start at 8am.
The hotel has free Wi-Fi, that does work very well indeed, I measured it at 6.09 Mbps download, and 0.68Mbps upload. My room had a small digital flat screen TV and this also worked very well. The en suite facilities were really nice, whirlpool bath and shower were perfect. Tea & Coffee making facilities in my room were especially nice, a real kettle that boils the water in seconds, and not minutes. Breakfast was really good, I had the porridge at it was excellent, cooked breakfasts were available for those who don't have to watch their weight.

I will certainly stay here again, nothing to complain about at all, and a great price !

Richard Kaminski.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trigga1526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We recently spent 3 nights in a 4 poster room overlooking the garden, everything exceeded our expectations, from the lovely comfortable bed to the jacuzzi bath.
We also relaxed in the warm sunshine in the lovely secluded walled garden.

Room Tip: We are really pleased that we spent a little extra for a 4 poster room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed on business and it was OK for one night. The room was clean and the bed comfortable so got a good nights' sleep. Floorboards are very creaky but not a real problem. It's an old hotel so it is a bit quirky, but well placed in Ulverston which has some great choices to go and eat at very sensible prices.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing. the waiter didn't appear for about 8 minutes and then he was serving someone else. By the time he took our order I had already eaten a bowl of fruit, and a bowl of cereal and a yoghurt so didn't really have time (or want) the cooked breakfast., which was a shame as it did look good.

i would stay here again but not for more than a couple of nights at a time.

Just a note on the parking, it is only free between 6p.m. and 8 a.m.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We booked this Hotel for a wedding weekend, chosen because of the advertised four poster bed and jacuzzi. Intial impressions were good but on closer investigation found it need of some major investement. The mattress on the bed was very springy and uncomfortable despite an extra cover being put over it, the pillows had as much depth in them as naan breads. The controls on the bath/jacuzzi were broken and just sat on top for display purposes. The shower in the morning, went from very hot (scalding and dangerous if used by kids), to cold, to completely off. On our depature we were told this was due to the Hotel being full. The plumbing issues continued with toilet, if flushed it could not be used again for 20 minutes while it filled up. When we went to breakfast, there was only one person waiting on the tables and cooking breakfast for a full hotel, to be fair to him he worked very hard trying to cater to all the tables, but struggled on his own. It was advertised as having a restaurant, but when asked about the evening meal, the manager couldn't find a menu, he said that they hadn't been shopping but had a bit of steak and chicken maybe. Breakfast was very poor, two rashers of bacon 2 eggs, the tiniest sausage, a few tinned mushrooms on a very large plate. There was a pub garden that backed onto the Hotel, which was very noisy into the late hours, not conducive to good sleep. Parking was only available in the council car park opposite at £6 a day. When I complained at the end, we got £20 off our £190 bill. A shame as this Hotel does have the potential to be a good one but probably needs new owners with some new investment.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jimmygiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ulverston hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
38 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
92 reviews
4.6 mi away
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & R...
#2 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
500 reviews
5.8 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
698 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale House Hotel

Property: Lonsdale House Hotel
Address: 11 Daltongate, Ulverston LA12 7BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ulverston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonsdale House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 2 minutes' walk from the centre the small market town of Ulverston, the family-run Lonsdale House Hotel offers a warm welcome to all those who visit. Originally built in Edwardian times, we have strived to retain that old-fashioned charm, mixed with modern convenience, that Ulverston is renowned for. Being just 10 minutes' drive from Lake Windermere, it makes for a perfect getaway from the crowds of central Lakes. The rooms at Lonsdale House Hotel include a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms all benefit from an en suite bathroom. Some rooms boast a four-poster bed and a spa bath. We have free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, and a lovely secluded garden or lounge to relax in, if you wish. In the mornings, guests can enjoy hearty full English breakfast. Central Ulverston is home to numerous shops and pubs, boutique and general, many of which are located on the stone paved main street. The town offers many country festivals, well known throughout the area, which are great for young and old alike. There is a public carpark just across the road, if you arrive by car, and the train station is just quarter of a mile away. The Lonsdale House Hotel is just 15 minutes' drive from the coast. Guests can visit the Manjushri Centre at Conishead Priory, which is 2 miles from the property. Coniston Lake is 12 miles from The Lonsdale House Hotel. The surrounding area offers the Wildlife Animal Park in Dalton in Furness, also the Dock Museum in Barrow In Furness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Lonsdale House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Hotel Ulverston
Lonsdale House Hotel Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing