We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME AVRIL”
Review of Newbiggin Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newbiggin Hall
Ranked #4 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Once you have met avril you will go back to Newbiggin Hall. She does all to make your stay a calm one - her kindness and attention to detail - Avril provides a holiday of relaxed pleasure. With rocking chairs in spacious rooms with views to calm the senses. Being on the northern edge of ulverston its ideal for the western - central @ southern fells with the added bonus of walking from the doorstep. Avril provides all the local places of interest and places to eat - of which there are plenty, Janet@Ian Sheffield stayed three nights in april 2014 - and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 107 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We decided to go to Lake district for the easter break. Less than a couple of hours after making the booking, we received an lovely email from Avril giving us all the directions to reach her place (a gps is however recommended in the region as finding your ways might sometimes be tricky for non-local people). When we arrived after a long drive from Birmingham,home-made scones and tea were waiting for us!

The house is situated in the country side, no noise or traffic during the night and you can even see the stars at night from the veranda. Bedding and bathroom are very comfy and well-maintained.

Avril is very caring and always good with an advise, let alone a fantastic cooker (we recommend our full English breakfast made from local products).

Overally a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pierre944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stay regularly at Newbiggin Hall and have done so since last December and I intend to continue staying there. Avril the owner takes all possible steps to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The bedrooms are spacious and well presented and equally the lounge and large conservatory area all with breath taking views of the surrounding countryside. Avril also likes to make sure you leave for the day's exploring with a hearty cooked breakfast - or indeed something lighter if preferred. I would without hesitation recommend Newbiggin Hall it's a great place to base yourself when exploring the Lake District.

Stephen Nicholls - Nottinghamshire

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Stephen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Newbiggin Hall over two days and had a wonderful time. We were made to feel very much at home and had a lovely large en suite four poster bedroom. Very comfy bed and a good nights sleep. Wherever we were in the Hall there were beautiful views of the countryside all around. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented. What a relaxing time we had. Avril's hospitality is truly marvellous.
Anne and Byron.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneByronS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a lovely stay here. Avril's hospitality is wonderful, the home cooked breakfasts were fantastic as were the hot cross buns on arrival! The countryside location and views are stunning too.
Natalie

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AzariaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We cannot compliment the property and Avril, our hostess, enough! Avril's home is beautiful, with stunning views out to the surrounding countryside. We love how Avril has set out her home perfectly to appreciate these views, with chairs placed looking out of the large bedroom windows and amazing views from the conservatory. The electric blanket was a warm welcome, as were the scones and pot of tea on arrival! We could not have asked for a better hostess than Avril. A kind and welcoming lady. Avril provided some great tips on local places to visit and even dropped us off into Ulverston for our New Years evening. Breakfast times were flexible which allowed us to have a very much appreciated lie in. Breakfast was tasty and wholesome and the portions were spot on. Ulverston itself is a pretty little market town with some lovely pubs and places to eat. It is surrounded by the beautiful Lake District and just a couple of miles from the coast. If you choose to stay at this property, you will not be disappointed and we certainly hope to revisit, perhaps in the summer when the views and outdoors can be appreciated to full effect. Thanks for making us so welcome Avril and for a lovely New Year getaway!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ulverston hotels
1.3 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
78 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
95 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#5 of 5 in Ulverston
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Farmers Arms
The Farmers Arms
#2 of 8 in Ulverston
48 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#9 of 26 in Ulverston
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbiggin Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbiggin Hall

Address: Newbiggin Hall Elleriggs Brow, Ulverston LA12 7PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Newbiggin Hall Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing