We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newbiggin Hall, Ulverston”
Review of Newbiggin Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbiggin Hall
Ranked #3 of 26 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Newbiggin Hall, Ulverston”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Avril's b and b is superior in all aspects. The house is beautifully presented and our bedroom was large, extremely comfortable and something to behold. The view of the countryside is breathtaking. We had the use of several rooms. Avril is a generous host whose attention to detail is outstanding. She provided us with amazing cooked breakfasts, scones and cream and pots of tea, all beautifully presented in matching crockery. We highly recommend this b and b. Gary and Catherine Conroy

Room Tip: It is very convenient having a room with en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
42
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Avril is the perfect hostess. From the moment we booked she provided us with everything we needed; directions, flexibility with arrival time, somewhere to keep an Apricot tart and fridge space to cool wine…. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast superb. My only wish would have been to stay longer and not to have to go to work !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrassicaBratsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been staying at Newbiggin Hall since January 2014, and from the moment that I stepped into the house Avril has been attentive, welcoming, helpful and most importantly a fantastic person to be around. I intend to stay at Newbiggin Hall till the end of my contract.

The rooms are clean to the highest standards and the beds are very comfortable. Having severe food intolerances means that I have to prepare my own food, Avril has been nothing but helpful and understanding and has allowed me to prepare food in her kitchen. The surroundings are peaceful and serene, waking up in the morning to the beautiful rolling hills of the Lake District is a fantastic way to start the day.

All I can say is, staying at Newbiggin Hall is like staying in a home away from home and you will always come back! Thank you for everything Avril!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We have just arrived back from a nights stay with Avril at Newbiggin Hall in Ulverston. It was perfection!! From the moment I contacted Avril via email she was welcoming and friendly. On arrival we were greeted with homemade sausage rolls, mango scones and lots of tea!! The house has plenty of character as does Avril. She is one of nicest ladies we have ever met!! Her little dog is also adorable. Great nights sleep, lovely and quiet. Breakfast was also served at what time we desired and was fantastic. Ulverston is a steady 30 mins walk and has lots of lovely pubs.
This truly is a b&b that has that added touch!! Couldn't recommend it more!! We would 100% stay again.Thank you again Avril was welcoming us into your home. Mel and Neal x

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelandNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I had the opportunity of staying at Newbiggin Hall for one night whilst on a business trip.

First of all, what a lovely host. A warm and friendly welcome from Avril made my short stay very homely. Not one for a cooked breakfast, I opted for the healthy option. I was greeted by a host of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, home made seeded bread (delicious!), marmalade, fresh strawberries and fresh coffee, all served in the sunny conservatory.

The guest house itself is seemingly in the middle of nowhere, although in reality, only a 5 minute drive or 10-15 minute walk into town. The benefit of the setting is of course, the magnificent views which were just perfect on a sunny June morning.

A great place to stay to explore Ulverston and the South Lakes.

Room Tip: One room has an en-suite and a 4 poster. The other two I believe share a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNash33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

After spending a week long stay at this bed and breakfast I can say it has to be one of the best.
Avril, the owner, makes you feel right at home. I had scones, jam and cream waiting for me on the day of arrival . She goes the extra mile for sure , and the views are stunning. Food was wonderful the whole week of my stay . If you want good food and good service and a great view over breakfast then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The house is lovely, quiet and spacious. Avril is an amazingly kind, caring and very helpful lady who could not offer to do more for us during our stay and always ensured we were as comfortable as possible and went to great lengths to ensure that our stay was as close to living at home as you could get. If you are in the Ulverston area, you must stay here! It's very peaceful, has great views of the countryside and the breakfast was fab, too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.7 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Ulverston
74 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
698 reviews
1.4 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#12 of 26 in Ulverston
77 reviews
4.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#8 of 26 in Ulverston
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbiggin Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbiggin Hall

Property: Newbiggin Hall
Address: Newbiggin Hall Elleriggs Brow, Ulverston LA12 7PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Newbiggin Hall Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing