We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newbiggin Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulverston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newbiggin Hall
Ranked #3 of 27 Ulverston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Avril is a wonderful hostess. The tea and scones after our long drive was so welcome, and suggestions of where to eat. She made us feel completely at home. We had a perfect circular walk from the property, with fabulous views across Morecombe Bay. It's a great base for the South Lakes, very close to Ulverston, and I could also imagine staying put with my book and boots.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WKing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
42
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The most welcoming and attentive hostess, Avril, who makes all her guests feel at home and who can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your stay. The room was spacious, charming and excellent value for money overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRW623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had such a happy stay at Newbiggin Hall and a really warm welcome from Avril. What a stunning view from the conservatory, pure quiet, so peaceful, just perfect for our visit to the Buddhist Summer Festival.

Looking forward to next time when we can enjoy afternoon cream tea in the garden with homemade scones. Thank you for super breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was my second stay with Avril and I enjoyed it more than my first (if that is possible) It was like returning home. Avril was more warm and welcoming than I remembered. She baked shortbread biscuits for me, my favourite. At breakfast she catered to my whim of different combination everyday, I even had vegetarian sausages and the mushrooms were delicious.

The house is quiet, with views of a wide open fields and you can see rabbits chase each other in the garden if you are lucky. There is telly in the lounge, comfortable sofas in the conservatory and chairs in the garden, plenty of places to relax other than your room. The en suite room has a lovely four poster bed with a rocking chair and a window seat, perfect for enjoying the view, reading , meditating or just day dreaming.

The wi fi connection was fast which was great as there aren't very many mobile signal hotspots in the house.

I will definitely stay here again. Very highly recommended on it's USP-it's hostess Avril.

Room Tip: The double or the double en-suite as both have fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Avril is a genuine & caring hostess who goes to extreme lengths to please her guests. Great relaxing countryside location. Avril prepared a plate of fresh strawberries, raspberries & blueberries for breakfast becasue she knew I wanted a healthy one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delbertini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Newbiggin Hall for a friends wedding in the nearby Fell Foot Woods. Avril was an amazing host, laying on home made scones and tea when we arrived, cooking us delicious breakfasts and even ironing my fiancés shirt for the wedding. Nothing was too much trouble.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honest_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Avril was a wonderful host. Because we came with baby, she kept the third room free, so we would feel more comfortable. Wonderful scones and breakfast! Avril's B&B is located in a rural setting with great views. We had a great time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulverston
2.7 mi away
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
Sea Wood Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Ulverston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lonsdale House Hotel
Lonsdale House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Ulverston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn
Red Lion Inn
#1 of 27 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Red Lion House
Red Lion House
#1 of 1 in Swarthmoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Virginia House
Virginia House
#11 of 27 in Ulverston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa
Swan Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbiggin Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbiggin Hall

Property: Newbiggin Hall
Address: Newbiggin Hall Elleriggs Brow, Ulverston LA12 7PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Ulverston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Ulverston
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Newbiggin Hall Ulverston, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing