We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oronsay

Master bedroom with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master bedroom with ensuite Front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Master bedroom with ensuite
Master bedroom with ensuite
Front of house
View of Urswick Tarn from the back door
Newly installed modern kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge with Log fire
Lounge with Log fire
Dining Room
Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Bright and spacious twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedoom alternate view
Bright and newly fitted family bathroom with jacuzzi bath
Landing from top of the stairs
Landing leading into the twin & one of the double bedrooms
Landing looking from the back bedroom
Garden
View of the village coming down from Birkrigg
Urswick VIllage
Urswick Tarn in the winter
View of Coniston Old Man from Birkrigg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ulverston, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Curiosity...
1 review
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 16 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This home was so neat and tidy and ample for the four of us. The garden and setting were beautiful. Near by were two pubs and they were most helpful and obliging. In the mornings you could hear the birds singing. We enjoyed our stay of two weeks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spyridon...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay close to Lake District”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our group of 5 had a fantastic stay at Oronsay. The cottage is in great condition, exactly as in the photos, and very well equipped. Nice original features. The location is great, in a little, quiet village but close to a bigger town (Ulverston) where you can find everything. Also, a good base for exploring Lake District. The host, Rachel, made our stay very comfortable and the communication was excellent. A small point of criticism would be that we found no toilet or kitchen rolls when we arrived which was a bit of an inconvenience. But other than that a great house and host, highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rob M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy character cottage in scenic setting”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in this beautiful cottage during Christmas week and all the family had a fantastic time. The cottage is nicely furnished and has everything you would ever need, particularly the kitchen which was well equipped and made cooking Christmas dinner easy! The open fire in the lounge kept us warm and cosy.

The location of the cottage is great with beautiful scenery and two great village pubs. There are plenty of walks from the doorstep. Would definitely recommend this cottage for a quiet stay in the lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz E
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spacious cottage, tranquil village”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We loved this cottage! it was very spacious (2 cottages knocked into 1), Plenty of room for 8 of us to stay. The village is lovely too, quiet with a couple of pubs and some nice walks. We cant can't praise this place enough, and Rachel was more than helpful in the run up to our visit and during our stay......Perfect.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blondisla...
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely village”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I booked a weekend here with a group of friends. The cottage was beautiful with lots of period features and a cosy log fire. The house was a good size for us and there was plenty of room to relax and cook in the kitchen. We had a very comfortable stay here. The garden is lovely and well maintained. In the village there are 2 good country pubs and a tarn which was great to run or stroll around. It's well located for visiting the lakes and the directions provided by the owner made it easy to find. I will definitely go back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a break with family or friends in the lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allard1
2 reviews
“Cosy yet spacious - everything we wanted!”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent in every respect. A lovely cottage (2 knocked into one - and so spacious too), centrally located in a beautiful village. Very well equipped - and tastefully decorated. Ideal for our wedding party of 7, and Rachel was so helpful in all aspects of our booking. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing