We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Just returned from an overnight stay. Why have we not found this one before?! The views, service, facilities are excellent. The owner has a wealth of local knowledge and cannot help enough without being over-bearing. The room we stayed in was on the back so no spectacular views but was extemely well appointed. Food and wine were outstanding. We both commented that it is probably the best we've experienced for many years. It is also a pleasure to have waiter service, even at breakfast, and not have to pick from a buffet. It means everything is hot and cooked to order. The diet starts Monday! Well done, Lyzzick Hall. It won't be long before we return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnD209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    90
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
376
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We chose Lyzzick Hall because of its location with fantastic views of the mountains and because the hotel was of a high standard and quite traditional. The staff were friendly and helpful. The service very good, the rooms lovely and the food excellent.

Room Tip: chose room at the front to appreciate the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plastic31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I visit Lyzzick Hall Hotel several times a year and am never disappointed. The level of maintenance and improvements is amazing - there's always something new to see every year, this year seeing the enlargement of the Dining Room by the addition of a "bay" area looking out over a very pretty flower bed to the magnificent scenery beyond. Another fantastic change this year has been the change of the patio area which borders the Dining Room and the Lounge into an Orangary. I know many people visit the Lake District for activity holidays, but I go to "chill out" and whilst Lyzzick Hall is fantastic for those on activity holidays, I had a wonderfully relaxing time (on the days I wasn't out sightseeing) sitting in the Orangary, so comfortably appointed with the lovely Lloyd Loom furniture and with the views from there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Spent one night at Lyzzick Hall and had a good break albeit one night only. On first glance seems quite Country House style, but on further inspection quite relaxed and friendly. There is a pool, large lawns/gardens and space to roam. Had 2 rooms,one for my wife & I and another for my son. Ours was a large room and adequate, in fact somewhat too large in certain areas i.e. a lot of 'empty' space. The Bathroom was nice although some of the bathroom fixtures were more "show than go", classic style wins over what you may think is the vougue from reading House & Home etc....., plus some minor elements could have done with maintenance - which really should have been identified by the maids etc. Slept well however and quite, even though quite close to the pool area. Our sons room was close by and smaller (single occupancy of double room), and apart from a TV of some age (noticed that these were being replaced it appeared in other rooms), was adequate also. Pool was nice and hot-tub + sauna, although no external cold showers for the latter, making the dressing rooms somewhat cramped/could do with lockers etc. plus more furniture.
Meals were OK, and reasonable if taking inclusive rates, not otherwise, very busy even getting close to end of orders, plus breakfast would have been better as a buffet rather than each course ordered/waited for.
Generally however relaxing and a useful find, and will return given its location to Keswick, Lakes/Mountains etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGreenTravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This is a well placed hotel for visiting the lake district, away from the bustle of Keswick but close enough that you can drive in. Not that you might want to go to Keswick after staying here, Dodd Wood is just down the road and you can walk down to the side of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel is also used for wedding receptions, and the grounds provide an ideal backdrop for wedding photos.
Our room was large and located near the pool, although it was quite a way from reception and the dining room. However, the bed was comfortable and the room quiet.
The hotel restaurant is worth staying in for; good quality food and service. They also serve a good breakfast.
Strangely, the pool is deepest at the centre, which took me by surprise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golden-mole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed at the Lizzick Hall in April with my fiancé, the hotel is set in beautiful grounds and with amazing views. Our room was fabulous, with a very comfortable bed and views over the fields and mountains. Coming from a city, it was great to escape to the country to this beautiful retreat, it was just like you would imagine from watching TV programs!
The breakfast was delicious and copious, and the staff very friendly and attentive. We didn’t eat at the hotel and went into the town of Keswick for our dinner instead, but people we chatted to in the bar said it was very nice.
The spa was a lovely addition too, really relaxing to use after a day out walking about.
If I had to say anything negative at all it would be that I didn’t like the smell of the toiletries, but it’s not a complaint, I’m just very particular and take my own everywhere I go anyway.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially for couples as it’s very olde-worlde and romantic!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusyLizzie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Just returned from a 3 day break at this wonderful hotel. With outstanding views this hotel is a little gem, spacious clean rooms, excellent service and friendly attention from the hotel staff. The highlight was the quality of food and the service - as good as any top class restaurant . If you are looking for a great hotel in the Nothern Lakes close to Keswick this is it, not cheap but worth paying a little extra

Room Tip: Ring the hotel to get the best rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crowd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
591 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing