We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find!”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wanted to extend my Husband's recent 60th Birthday by rounding it off with a treat in The Lake District. This hotel ticked all of the boxes. Arrived after a tiring journey, following long delays, unfortunately due to a road accident. We were shown to our lovely room and went downstairs straight away to a welcoming tray of tea and biscuits in front of a roaring fire. Then unpacked and put on robes to sample the hot tub and swimming pool, both of which were beautifully maintained. Later that evening we went down to dinner in the lovely restaurant. The food was fantastic and we enjoyed a bottle of Portugese wine, which having tasted, I would certainly sample again. Coffee in the lounge followed and the whole evening totally relaxed us. Breakfast the next morning was excellent with some old favourites on the menu as well as more adventurous choices. Staff - unobtrusive and yet helpful and friendly. The Hotel is near to keswick, which we wanted and we spent the day walking, travelling on the lake and shopping in the delightful town.We took tea at the Lodore Falls Hotel in the afternoon, and although this seems like a nice enough place, we are now hooked on The Lyzzick Hall Experience and cannot wait to return! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

We chose this place for our 5 year anniversary as we always wanted to visit the lake district. We got a deal online for a two night stay and breakfast. Our room was standard but was ample enough for the two of us and our beautiful baby daughter. The surrounding landscape is stunning, no matter where you are in the hotel these great views are always accessible. The friendly staff are always on hand to help and make you feel welcome. The hotel boasts a swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi very close to all the rooms which is fabulous. The restaurant in the hotel is lovely, the food is of a very, very high standard. We can report high marks for the scallops, prawns, lamb shank and sea bass. Truly, the food was superb. Again, the staff are friendly and helpful. Just great ambassadors of the waiting game. As it was our anniversary, we of course took the opportunity to make love which was as always superb. Great fun. Overall, our stay in the Lyzzick was truly wonderful and we fully intend to return. Cannot recommend it highly enough !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFab76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We booked this through a great deal from KGB. We rang on a Wednesday with our fingers crossed that we would get a room for the Friday for two nights. We managed to get the last room and we were delighted.
The hotel is beautiful with lots of character and only have 30 bedrooms so is ideal for a quite weekend away. Our room was number 10 and had a view of the mountains in the distance and some plants and trees directly outside of our window. The bathroom was a good size as was the bedroom, the only fault if I were to be picky was that the shower head hung too low and we were unable to stand underneath it as it been broken but we just had baths instead. Pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing.
The staff were friendly and helpful and their customer service is faultless. I have never experienced such lovely people in all the hotels we have stayed in.
We ate in the restaurant on our second night and the choice is of a variety of dishes for a 5 course menu, there is something to suit every taste.
The view at breakfast from the restaurant took our breath away as it overlooks the mountains and on a clear day was truly fantastic.
All in all, we will be booking to go back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaewynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed for 1 night for a special occasion. The room was lovely and spotless and the views absolutely stunning. The staff were friendly and efficient. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely and warm and a nice touch for a country hotel. The food was exceptional. My only slight criticism is the food came a little too quickly, I would have preferred a break between courses, but it was so good it can be forgiven. Otherwise I cannot fault with excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at this lovely friendly hotel. From the moment we stepped through the door until the moment we left we were totally impressed by the relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the tasteful decor.
As previous reviewers have stated the food is delicious, well presented and beautifully cooked and seasoned.
Service in the hotel is faultless and the cleanliness is of a high standard.
The hotel is in a fabulous position and the views are amazing. We stayed in the Helvellyn room and the views were stunning.
We could not find any fault during our stay and enjoyed a relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel is situated in a beautiful setting only 3 miles outside Keswick in the Lake District. Our roon ( Whinlatter) had a corner window with amazing views. The bedroom was large with all the facilities one would expect. It was very clean, warm and comfortable. The lounges were also very comfortable with a log fire in one of them. The dining room is very attractive & the service was excellent. The food was of a high standard and all the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves the countryside and who requires excellence without pretention.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My first visit of the year today when I was treated to lunch at Lyzzick Hall. They only reopened yesterday after their annual January closure for works to be done. The main lounge, bar and reception have all been redecorated and some new furnishings added to the lounge. Lunch was, as ever, absolutely delicious. We had started out sitting in the Orangery with a delicious glass of Spanish Chardonnay, and watched the snow softly drifting down outside and continued the theme in the restaurant before returning to sit beside the fire in the lounge before leaving. Here's wishing Lyzzick Hall all the very best for 2012 and will see them again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range: £145 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing