We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned from a short midweek break at this establishment,what a smashing place it was too.Set just 2 miles out of Keswick and with stunning views the hotel was an set in its own manicured grounds even at this time of year.Two reception rooms leading onto the restaurant.Our room was a double room with a fully tiled en suite bathroom,more than adequate for our needs.
There is also a smallish spa facility,consisting of pool,jacuzzi and sauna,all which is included in the price of your stay.(here would be my only tiniest gripe,the changing rooms are a bit small with no lockers and no matting on the floor so stood in puddles getting changed,therefore we noticed people walking back to their rooms with wet feet along the carpet,so take flip flops)
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was superb,and plentiful,four courses costing just £30 a head,served by very pleasant and attentive staff,as were the staff throughout the hotel.Book here and you will not be disappointed.

A small tip,i hope the hotel wouldn't mind me mentioning,at the Keswick roundabout just 2 miles down the road is The Pheasant Inn,where we ate the second night and the food and staff were also excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Chancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    88
    25
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
358
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Guisborough
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary last August and thoroughly enjoyed it. We stayed here two nights for a birthday treat in April 2012 and got fine weather to boot. Consequently with the clear air, the views were to die for, and once again the food was mouth-watering and the service impeccable. OK so it tends to cater for the tastes of older citizens but that doesn't stop younger people enjoying the serenity and beauty of the place. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff whio set an example of how a hotel should be run. Our bed mattress was a bit hard for our tastes this time but we still slepty soundly. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for so if you want to treat a loved one to a class weekend in peace and quiet then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s o t
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed 1-3 April 2012 and got a great deal.
The hotel was excellent in every way.
We had a well decorated modern room with a good outlook, Breakfast was waiter service, yes waiter service, and was freshly prepared with a excellent selection to suit all tastes. Public areas were all tastefully decorated and furnished. Swimming pool, hot tub and sauna were of very good quality and the outlook from the swimming pool was beautiful. All staff worked as a team and provided excellent customer service. The hotel is hidden away about 2 miles outside Keswick.
Places of interest-
Keswick very pleasant with plenty to see and do
Buttermere beautiful taking about 2 hours to walk round with excellent pub grub at the Fish Inn.
Grassmere a pretty little village.
Cockermouth was in our opinion a grotty little town which was 'closed' o Sundays

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 close to the pool, useful if you like an early morning swim
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gezzastoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had an absolutely amazing Sunday lunch, greeted by the stunning garden area as you arrive and into the dining room. The food was amazing and served by very friendly staff. Beautiful views from the table. Retired to the new conservatory which is light and airy for coffee. Walked around the gardens where many other families were enjoying the wonderful atmosphere of this incredible place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _kiwi_traveller_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed two nights at the Lyzzick and can I say impressive location with beautiful views and gardens. The bedrooms were disappointing, too small with very dated decor. The bed was tiny for a average person and very uncomfortable, not a good nights sleep!! The hotel undoubtedly cater's for the over 60's and the dining room looks like a care home, this would need to be updated for the younger market.

The cost of meals/food is overpriced and breakfast menu was limited. I was disappointed with what they called a "hearty breakfast" which was 1 sausage, 1 slice of bacon a hash brown and mushrooms which part of this is hearty? I was also unimpressed when I received a call from the receptionist who asked us to leave the key at reception before we left the hotel as she believed we would lose the key on a wild night in Keswick (As if!!!). I felt as if i was being treated like a child, I am in my mid 30's. Overall this place is very clean, staff are courteous and polite. This is a good place to relax if you are over 60!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had an all too brief one night stay at this delightful place. Welcoming staff, a large room, ultra modern bathroom and very comfortable bedding. As guests we were offered a 4 course evening meal in the restaurant for 20 pounds. Do dine here if you stay -this was a quite superb meal, both in terms of quality and quantity - a true bargain. Breakfast was of a similarly high standard.

There is a stunning fully tiled heated pool enclosed in a sauna-like atmosphere - truly inviting but a lack of togs prevented us from trying it out. All in all, we would give this hotel our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

For 15 years now we have visited Lyzzick Hall , every time it is peacefull UN-RUSHED and not as expensive as you might think . You may pay £20 or so for lunch , but last time we were there , in Autumn , we were made welcome for 3 hours relaxing and enjoying the views and fine surroundings whilst having our coffee replenished with a smile ,.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mongooseloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing