We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Good value for money.. We paid 120 pounds for two nights with breakfast and scones on arrival

Rooms are a little bit dated and unfortunately I found the beds very uncomfortable (too hard)

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaLi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Beautiful hotel with stunning scenery. Spotlessly clean. The food was absolutely excellent - four course dinner, approx £29 to £35 - with supplements for several choices i.e approx £5 for fillet of beef was worth every penny! The staff were lovely - very friendly and nothing too much trouble for them. Would have no hesitatation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: room 10 located next to spa and a little on the small side. Speak to hotel about room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here in May for 2 nights during the red hot weather (our summer?) We used a KGB voucher and it was excellent value. Arrived to tea and scones which we had sitting in the beautiful gardens. We stayed with my parents and both had standard rooms which were quite spacious (10 and 11) The layout of my parents room (10) was slightly lighter, airier and more modern than ours as our furniture was dark mahogany. The rooms were next to the pool which was a lovely bonus so we only had a very short walk. The pool itself overlooks the gardens and hills in the distance. There is also a sauna and jacuzzi. There was virtually no one using it when we were in.
We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights so received a free bottle of wine per couple. The food was fantastic! 5 course meal for £35 and we got 15% discount. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 5-10 min drive from Keswick. There is not a lot nearby so unless you are planning on doing an awful lot of walking, you would need a car.
I highly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation staying again. The KGB deal was excellent value!

Room Tip: 10 was nicer than 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here last year and could not pass up the opportunity to stay here again. We only wish we could have stayed 3 nights instead of 2. The location is exquisite, the staff most friendly and the cuisine would rival any restaurant you may have dined at. Not only that, the DBB tarrif is very competitive. Ask for the Glen Walla room and you won't be disappointed. Take the opportunity to book direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruzytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Friends kindly introduced us to this beautiful hotel near Keswick. Staff couldn't be friendlier, food was very good, views of Lakeland scenery make you want to relax and stay a bit longer!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The whole experience matched our expectations. The rooms were lovely ; the staff couldn't do enough to help and the food in the restuarant was above average. In fact the restuarant was busy for the 2 nights we were there - obviously the locals rate Lyzzick Hall as a good place to eat. The location is just ourside Keswick - you can walk into town - bit of a trek though - took us about an hour.The hotel itself has a pool/jacuzzi and steam room - we didn't take advantage of these during our stay so can't really comment but good to have these facilities. The garden outside was very pleasant with a particularily attractive terrace area - provided the weather is ameniable a very nice place to have a drink. There are also a couple of drawing rooms which were nicely furnished and spacious - a great place to sit and relax, and an a good area for pre dinner drinks.

Room Tip: We chose a delux room of which there are 4. 2 of these are in the newer part of the hotel and we cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights via an offer through KGB deals website.

The hotel is lovely and immaculately clean and although our room was fine, we were a little disappointed when we saw how much nicer other rooms were and how much bigger all the other beds looked!

The pool, jacuzzi and steam room were again lovely and clean and we thoroughly enjoyed using the facilities, especially with the mountain views from the pool.

Breakfast was lovely and cooked to order, even if the portions were a little on the stingy side!

We didn't eat at the hotel as it was very expensive (£35 per head) but we ate at The Pheasant on the first night and The George on the second-both of which served great food at more reasonable prices.

Location is good for walking but it's at least 3 miles from Keswick so the downside for us was having to drive each night for something to eat and drink if you don't want to remortgage your house!

Whilst here we did 'ghyll scrambling' which was amazing if you're a bit of a daredevil and like an adrenaline rush!
We also hired a rowing boat on the river Derwent in Keswick which was so tranquil and an hour really well spent.

Will definitely be coming back to the Lake District but not sure I'd pay the full price at this hotel given the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corried13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
677 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
489 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range: £123 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing