We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing view shame about the birch tree blocking the picture,but annoyed at being locked in an missing my 5am jog !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“amazing view shame about the birch tree blocking the picture,but annoyed at being locked in an missing my 5am jog !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

probably the best staff at a hotel i have ever visited, the food in restaurant was very good, and pleasant enough. however, the climb to the rooms was a chore, the reception rooms felt like a care home environment.
we paid on an offer of 2 nights mid week for £119 bed and breakfast. had just one dinner for 2 at £64 the average price being £296 for 2 nights bed and breakfast, which for the stay seemed not to compare to other similar property we have stayed at in the area.
if i stayed again, it would just be for 1 night, as i found that at 5am when i usually take an early morning jog, the hotel was locked on the inside, so unable to. (lucky there was not an emergency !!!)

Room Tip: front of the house, but avoid higher rooms as there was no lift, and no help was offered with luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    88
    25
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
358
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Moffat
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

It was wonderful to spend another 8 nights at Lyzzick Hall and to enjoy the same great service, food, etc. as has always been the case. It always amazes me how the owning family manage to find improvements to make every year! Now looking forward to my next break there - a long weekend in October.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have a Fitness centre and, wonderful though the spa is, I did not use it this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This place is really such a gem, with wonderful hosts and great food!
For residents you can have a 5 course meal for £20, which is fantastic value.

The decor retains the original features but with a modern twist. I loved the sitting room which looks out onto the spectacular scenery.

The day we arrived, we were keen to explore the area so the wonderful host gave us a route which we could take directly from the hotel and it was great! We made our way up behind the hotel and had a wonderful few hours' walk to Little Dodd's peak.

We did two big walks during our short stay (cat's bells - including a walk around Derwent water, it's wonderful! and Little Dodd's peak) and came back starving and ready for a big meal both days! We were not disappointed, and the waiters in the restaurant are extremely attentive and responsive. The food was perfect both evenings, and the dinner could be finished off with a digestif in the lounge...perfect!

This was my third time in the Lake District, and it was my favourite trip because it had it all, the wonderful walks, and great hospitality, comfortable rooms and great food!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to those who are looking for something a little bit special and a trip to remember.

Room Tip: The building is a complex set up, but when booking, it would be worth asking for one that looks out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emimurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

After something of an adventure getting to and from the hotel on the first night (Keswick was in the process of having 3.5 inches of rain in a day), we were delighted to find our voucher deal did not result ina box room by the service lift (as is sometimes the case). We got the comfortable and light room 22, one of the more modern rooms with a large bed, flat screen TV (though the site of the hotel and the weather conspired to offer little in the way of reception). Lovely touch in tea and delicious home made scones on arrival, much needed as we watched swathes of rain and cloud sweep down the valley in front of what we were able subsequently, and for about 15 minutes, to see was a gorgeous view! Very nice breakfast served by friendly and efficient staff. Our only slight disappointment was to find the hot tub in the liesure facilities non-functional, which in turn meant the smallish pool was occasionally a tad crowded (making actual swimming tricky), but I guess sometimes facilities need to be overhauled/ serviced, so..... The voucher deal meant this was exceptional value, though we were deterred from eating there by the price - but discovered a wonderful Thai place in Keswick instead.

Room Tip: Room 22 was perfectly nice with a view across the kitchen garden. Rooms at the front of the hotel o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

A real find. Great hotel and one to put on your must visit list. If you like service, comfort, and a big foodie this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robb186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We went to stay 18th/19th June 2012 using a KGB voucher. I don't usually write reviews however due to such an amazing time I felt I must write one, upon returning.

The views are amazing, sat outside the hotel. Our room was of the pool however we didn't mind as we didn't spend much time in the room. The pool was lovely the only drawback was the clarity of the water. Slightly off putting but still went in on both days. The jacuzzi and sauna were very pleasant. Breakfast was very good, and also they are very accommodating! The staff are very friendly, and good at giving you ideas for walks or days out. I would certainly consider booking here again when returning, in fact my only regret would be we weren't staying longer!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam075d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frizington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

I was very fortunate to be taken to this hotel for lunch wow what a surprise!!!! Excellent food excellent service excellent views in fact beautiful I definitely be paying a visit on a mini break.
First class very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tootsRLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing