We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We have stayed at the Lyzzick many times over the years, the last was on my 50th 2 years ago. We have used KGB deals for short breaks recently and were delighted that one of our favourite hotels had come up at £119 for a 2 night stay for 2 BB. We jumped at the chance to stay and have just returned from another great stay. Our room had a beautiful view of what must be the most beautiful valley in the Lakes. The weather was fantastic and we spent a good hour or two in the immaculate gardens after our days spent walking in the area. The pool and jacuzzi was also a welcome diversion and helped to ease the tired legs. The food in the restaurant whilst very good is not quite as good as it used to be (hence the 4 stars and not 5).
We would definitely stay in the Lyzzick again, we always relax the minute that we get there. The staff are so helpful and charming and help to make the stay so memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casablanca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    88
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
351
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Booked this as a KGB offer as a birthday present for my boyfriend and we certainly were not disappointed. The room was lovely, en-suite and very comfortable. Nice view down the valley. The food was to die for and we would certainly recommend eating at the hotel to anybody. Great selection of food and 5 courses was only £29! Chocolates were delivered as a surprise and the Chef even took the time to write happy birthday on my boyfriend's dessert plate. A lovely touch that just rounded off our stay perfectly. We loved every minute of our stay and would definitely return to Lyzzick!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peacefulparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

It's all been said before, great food, beautiful surroundings, attentive friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandMe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Somerset
Level Contributor
212 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

A former "gentleman's residence", but much extended over the years, about 3 or so miles from Keswick nestling under Skiddaw. The hotel has a view to kill for towards the Newlands Valley with Derwent Water to the left and Bassenthwaite Lake to the right. Service is excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. Food is excellent and good value if you opt for half-board. The wine list has a bias towards Spain & Portugal (not surprising, given the owner is Spanish and the wine waiter Portuguese) and offers excellent value with nothing that should be avoided. The hotel can suffer from an air of old-fashionedness, but don't be put off; this is a period house in the north Lakes and whilst retaining many old features, the decor is fresh and modern - the newish (2011) conservatory has made a big difference. The indoor heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna are a great asset (caution, the jacuzzi controls need a special knack to operate - push firmly once).
Set well back from a not-too-busy road, there is ample parking and a pleasant terraced garden to wander around, with a small children's play area. Alas, red squirrels were not in evidence.
A good centre for the less crowded north Lakes, this is a hotel that we come back to again and again.

Room Tip: Premium rooms in the older part of the house. Go for anything with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BloomfieldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

I booked 2 nights here on an internet offer. The building and grounds were lovely. It has obviously been refurbished lately. The rooms although not plush are clean and comfortable. The food was good too! The staff were all very friendly and helpful!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audSeaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

probably the best staff at a hotel i have ever visited, the food in restaurant was very good, and pleasant enough. however, the climb to the rooms was a chore, the reception rooms felt like a care home environment.
we paid on an offer of 2 nights mid week for £119 bed and breakfast. had just one dinner for 2 at £64 the average price being £296 for 2 nights bed and breakfast, which for the stay seemed not to compare to other similar property we have stayed at in the area.
if i stayed again, it would just be for 1 night, as i found that at 5am when i usually take an early morning jog, the hotel was locked on the inside, so unable to. (lucky there was not an emergency !!!)

Room Tip: front of the house, but avoid higher rooms as there was no lift, and no help was offered with luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonmaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

It was wonderful to spend another 8 nights at Lyzzick Hall and to enjoy the same great service, food, etc. as has always been the case. It always amazes me how the owning family manage to find improvements to make every year! Now looking forward to my next break there - a long weekend in October.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have a Fitness centre and, wonderful though the spa is, I did not use it this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing