We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS RETREAT, LOVELY STAFF.”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We would like to thank everyone at the Lyzzick Hall for a very pleasant two night stay this weekend, even the rain could not spoil our stay at this wonderful tranquil haven. Compliments to the chef, this guy deserves all the mitchelin stars going, we have never eaten such perfectly cooked food, well done 5***** David has looked after us extremely well with a professional and very friendly manner, everyone at the Hotel wants to be there and it shows in their attitude to working we can't praise them enough. We had room 31 at the front, extremely clean as was all the Hotel with a great view!! We used the pool room and it was clean and warm, very relaxing!! Again thank you we will be returning I'm sure. Susan and Shaun Burns. Sheffield.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Lyzzick Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just come back from a 2 night midweek stay. Lovely welcome from very helpful, polite staff. Enjoyed the warm pool and sauna. Relaxing in the lounges after a busy day. Breakfast very tasty. Will be returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just retuned from Lyzicck Hall Hotel after staying there for 2 nights with my husband. Beautiful, well kept grounds with fantastic views. A very warm welcome when we booked in, our room, although a little on the small side compared to what we are used to, was very clean, well kept, good decor, had everything we needed, very comfortable and best of all it had fantastic views of the lake district. We had the 5 course evening meal both nights as we were so impressed on the first night. It was excellent value for money and worth every penny. The home made bread is definately one to be tasted. Breakfast was one of the best I have had in a long time in a hotel. The customer service was excellent. Everything about this hotel was great and I would definatley recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Get a room a the front of the hotel if you can, the views are amazing
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at Lyzzick Hall for 2 nights midweek and it was brilliant. When we drove up, the well kept grounds and gardens gave us a clue as to their standards and we weren't disappointed. The room was very comfortable (if a little small but we were on a 'deal' so did not expect to be given one of the best rooms) and had everything needed for a good night's sleep, it was also very near to the lovely swimming pool, which had magnificent views over the fells. The staff were very helpful, considerate and attentive, but not 'over the top' and it was so nice to see a lakeland hotel that employed local people. The food here is absolutely superb, just so so good and the breakfast is the very best we have ever had - no exageration, and we have stayed in many cumbrian hotels !!! We were made to feel very welcome and we really enjoyed our time there, thank you so much to all the staff. There were also alot of returning guests who have been many times so that says it all !! We will certainly return, hopefully in the Autumn when we can enjoly the wonderful colours in a truly spectacular area of Cumbria.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We love the Lyzzick and go there for lunch on special family occasions for quality value and superb Lake District views it is hard to beat. Up there with the best in North Cumbria. With drinks expect to pay around £25 a head for a three course meal. Absolutely splendid!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank PETER_1953_CANHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just returned after 2 wonderful nights at the Lyzzick Hall Hotel. Fantastic location, wonderful staff - nothing was too much trouble. You felt at home here..... The food was excellent. The staff were so friendly and kind. A real pleasure to have stayed here. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I would say this was a decent, well maintained 3 star standard hotel in a beautiful setting. Booked it on KGB deals for 2 nights B&B with tea and scones on arrival; we had a reasonable size room (Number 12) which was clean and comfortable with a massive double bed and to us it was good value for the price paid. The food was really very good and, as an incentive to eat at the hotel, the four course evening meal was discounted by 15% with the added bonus of a free bottle of house wine if you ate there for two nights. The value of the house wine could be subtracted from a more expensive bottle if you wished.

It was quite obvious to us that many of the guests had stayed there before and the average age of the clientele was quite high but there were also quite a few families and couples in their thirties and forties so it made for a good mix. I would guess that the major reason for the popularity of this hotel is the friendliness and efficiency of the staff; they all seemed naturally well motivated and positive people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range: £138 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing