We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed here on KGB deal. and found the hotel to be of excellent value for the amount paid. Very warm welcome from friendly staff. Excellent location and great views. Had a great weekend although would not stay in room 11 again if we revisit. The room being small was not a problem but we found the noise from other rooms very off-putting. Breakfast was fairly good but dinner, we felt, was overpriced; at £35 per head; for the quality of food. There were too many flavours on the main course. Meat was fine as was the juniper berry sauce but this mingled with the celeriac, the aniseed taste of the fennel and the mustard mash spoilt it.
On the plus side the hotel is very well presented and the staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasperStoke_on_Trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Recently stayed here for one night package which included an evening meal and breakfast.
From the off the staff here endeavour to make you welcome and the service we received was first rate. Hotel busy but plenty of space and the view from our room was fabulous as is the position of hotel itself - which has a traditional feel to it which we liked. Evening meal top notch.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterPagey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights in July. What a lovely hotel. Staff are wonderful and very welcoming. Pool and jacuzzi lovely after a day in the Lakes.
Evening meal pricey at £30 but was 5 courses and mouth watering!!!!
Rooms gorgeous and plenty of car parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We had a great time at Lyzzick Hall. The staff, especially Dennis, were really helpful and welcoming. It was our first time away with our 4 month old daughter and we had a great time - the staff were lovely with her. We arrived late on our first night and they arranged for us to have our (restaurant) dinner in our room. The food was excellent and the facilities and room were of a very high standard. It was a beautiful location over looking the mountains. Thanks for a super experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at Lyzzick Hall for two nights in July 2012 and it was absolutely fantastic: the building and grounds are stunning, the staff could not be more helpful (and all seemed genuinely happy to be working there which is a rarity), and we had free tea and scones on arrival which was an added bonus :) In addition, the rooms were very comfortable, well decorated and clean, the pool/sauna/jacuzzi were lovely and the food was amazing (probably the best meal I have ever eaten for dinner - huge compliments to the chef). I cannot recommend this place highly enough, definitely well worth a stay. I want to go back and live there! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaznayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We would like to thank everyone at the Lyzzick Hall for a very pleasant two night stay this weekend, even the rain could not spoil our stay at this wonderful tranquil haven. Compliments to the chef, this guy deserves all the mitchelin stars going, we have never eaten such perfectly cooked food, well done 5***** David has looked after us extremely well with a professional and very friendly manner, everyone at the Hotel wants to be there and it shows in their attitude to working we can't praise them enough. We had room 31 at the front, extremely clean as was all the Hotel with a great view!! We used the pool room and it was clean and warm, very relaxing!! Again thank you we will be returning I'm sure. Susan and Shaun Burns. Sheffield.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just come back from a 2 night midweek stay. Lovely welcome from very helpful, polite staff. Enjoyed the warm pool and sauna. Relaxing in the lounges after a busy day. Breakfast very tasty. Will be returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
749 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range: £146 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing