We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent high quality”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistent high quality”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have just returned from Lyzzick Hall Hotel,just outside Keswick. We've visited a number of times over the years,and have always had a very enjoyable stay. The family who manage the hotel are regularly updating the premises,and the standard of cleanliness is a great compliment to all the staff. We were again impressed with the cheefulness of all the staff,and the food is indescribably delicious! Can't wait till the next visit,although there was a lot of rain!

Room Tip: The front rooms upstairs have fabulous views,but are dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    92
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
97
387
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. We were upgraded to Robinson - a good sized room with an excellent bathroom. King sized bed was comfortable, big fluffy white bath towels. We happened to catch a glimpse of the standard rooms which looked quite a lot smaller than ours so we were very glad to have been upgraded.
The pool was warm and we enjoyed using it and the sauna and jacuzzi too. Bath robes were supplied which were useful.
The breakfast had plenty of choice and all the staff we met were very efficient and friendly.
There was a 4 course dinner available with excellent choices and which were very tasty.
The gardens are attractive although it was very wet during our stay so we weren't able to sit outside. You can walk out of the back of the hotel along a quiet lane with footpaths to Skiddaw and Dodd.
We would recommend you book directly with the hotel - you'll get a bigger discount at dinner!
The only problem we had was that the room got very hot in the night so we took the quilt cover off and removed the quilt.

Room Tip: Robinson has good views towards the mountains but over the top of the pool roof. Good sized room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned from our 6 day break at Lyzzick hall, rather dissapointed . This was not our first time there so we know what to expect. The stunning views have not changed nor the friendly staff but the little things have. 6days only 2 clean towles,soaps shower caps ect not replaced. Food wilst still good was not as good as past stays. Also the room decor was getting very tired flaking paintwork bulbs not working radiator valve dripping. All small things but when you are paying top prices ....... However that said we will return hoping these points have been corrected by the management team.

Room Tip: Named rooms have better views. Whinnlatter bit noisy due to it being at the top of main stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I went with friends for a 3 night DB&B stay at this hotel earlier this week. We have stayed several times previously [originally on recommendation of friends] and have recommended it to several of our friends who have also tried it and enjoyed it. We just love it. It is in a lovely setting, looking over towards Keswick and the surrounding hills [eg: Catbells, Barrow, Maiden Moor etc]. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished with modern bathrooms. Breakfast is great and dinner just awesome!! Stay DB&B because the extra cost compared to B&B is well worth it [restaurant is open to non-residents]. Swimming pool is very handy after a hard day's walking, and there is also a jaccuzi and sauna room. The family and staff are very friendly and helpful, and it truly is just a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The numbered rooms are just as good as the named ones, but the named ones are nice for a special occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lyzzick Hall is very nice, clean hotel and the staff made my trip, rooms were very clean and a good size,
only downfall was they were quite noisy sounded like the extraction fan was on day and night.
The food was very lovely but mega expensive.
You can go into Keswick its only 5 minutes away in the car or the bus stops right outside the bottom of the Hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The staff were welcoming and helpful,always a smile being shown. The food was EXCELLENT.
We were on a two night break using kgbdeals and stayed in room 10. Think only complaint we had was there was no power shower just thing connected to the taps?! I did take my shorts to try out the pool,jaccuzi and sauna.
Overall Brill will be looking out for another deal.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible cos bed was bit soft and no power shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Excellent hotel. We had stayed at Lyzzick a year earlier and you always wonder whether a place will still be as good the second time. If anything it was better. The accommodation is superb, the food outstanding and the staff are brilliant. Friendly and helpful. Really make the place a bit special.
We will definitely go again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moriartyman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing