We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lyzzick is idyllic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The Lyzzick is idyllic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights back in April. I was spending the day in Keswick anyway and decided to extend it either side. The Lyzzick proved to be an inspired choice. The setting and the views are sublime, the rooms and facilities of a high standard and the staff friendly, courteous and helpful. What made it outstanding however was the food. Our stay was now six months ago so I cannot remember exactly what we had but I do remember that my taste buds were in ecstasy. For anyone wanting an idyllic break in the Lakes, I cannot recommend the Lyzzick too highly.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scottieLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    88
    25
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
359
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at Lyzzick Hall in the company of friends who have visited many times before. The setting is spectacular and all the staff were welcoming and friendly. Our standard room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The hotel offers a good choice of spaces for quiet reading, meeting up with friends and family, afternoon tea or pre/post-dinner drinks. The five course dinners were superb, with equal attention being paid to the quality and presentation of the food. Breakfasts were similarly impressive.
The hotel successfully offers its guests a blend of excellent, but non-intrusive, service with the best of modern British food. No wonder so many guests return time and time again. Indeed we are already planning our next visit to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moffat
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

I made my annual long-weekend visit to Lyzzick Hall last weekend and, as ever, it was a lovely experience. I sat in front of the log fire, read my book and dozed on and off during the evenings - a lovely relaxing time.
Everything was as clean, tidy and welcoming as it always is and long may it stay this way!

Room Tip: Oh, there's so many good rooms at the Lyzzick that it's difficult to choose just one. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had this hotel recommended to us and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is in a lovely part of the Lake District very near to Keswick and surrounded by gorgeous scenary.
The building dates back to 1845 but it has been modernised to a high standard. The public rooms are in period and warm and welcoming and I dispute strongly a previous reviewer who said it felt like a care home! The dining room and conservatory are modern but still in keeping with the overall feel of the hotel.
The views from the well kept gardens are stunning and it was just a pity it wasnt warm enough to take advantage of the outdoor tables and chairs.
The food was exceptional and this is obvious from the fact that there were many local non-residents eating in the dining room. The 5 course menu was of fine dining standard and the friendly staff made it all the more enjoyable.
The swimming pool looked inviting and of a good size - but we didnt try it due to not taking our swimsuits (this will be rectified when we stay again).
Breakfast was served!! This is such a change from the normal buffet style which is predominent in most hotels. Choice and quality again was excellent. Coffee was constantly filled and always hot (this was the same after dinner the night before along with the home made chocolates which were to die for ).
This hotel is exactly what a country house hotel should be - warm, welcoming with good food and nice rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twojays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have just returned from Lyzzick Hall Hotel,just outside Keswick. We've visited a number of times over the years,and have always had a very enjoyable stay. The family who manage the hotel are regularly updating the premises,and the standard of cleanliness is a great compliment to all the staff. We were again impressed with the cheefulness of all the staff,and the food is indescribably delicious! Can't wait till the next visit,although there was a lot of rain!

Room Tip: The front rooms upstairs have fabulous views,but are dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dillydream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. We were upgraded to Robinson - a good sized room with an excellent bathroom. King sized bed was comfortable, big fluffy white bath towels. We happened to catch a glimpse of the standard rooms which looked quite a lot smaller than ours so we were very glad to have been upgraded.
The pool was warm and we enjoyed using it and the sauna and jacuzzi too. Bath robes were supplied which were useful.
The breakfast had plenty of choice and all the staff we met were very efficient and friendly.
There was a 4 course dinner available with excellent choices and which were very tasty.
The gardens are attractive although it was very wet during our stay so we weren't able to sit outside. You can walk out of the back of the hotel along a quiet lane with footpaths to Skiddaw and Dodd.
We would recommend you book directly with the hotel - you'll get a bigger discount at dinner!
The only problem we had was that the room got very hot in the night so we took the quilt cover off and removed the quilt.

Room Tip: Robinson has good views towards the mountains but over the top of the pool roof. Good sized room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Just returned from our 6 day break at Lyzzick hall, rather dissapointed . This was not our first time there so we know what to expect. The stunning views have not changed nor the friendly staff but the little things have. 6days only 2 clean towles,soaps shower caps ect not replaced. Food wilst still good was not as good as past stays. Also the room decor was getting very tired flaking paintwork bulbs not working radiator valve dripping. All small things but when you are paying top prices ....... However that said we will return hoping these points have been corrected by the management team.

Room Tip: Named rooms have better views. Whinnlatter bit noisy due to it being at the top of main stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing