We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have been to this Hotel for meals over the past 35 years and it has always been first class. Called in last Saturday for lunch and was not disappointed . The meal,the service and the staff were excellent. The views from the lounge and the relaxed atmosphere completed a wonderful family afternoon .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    92
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
386
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I agree with all the other reviewers who rate this hotel as excellent. The rooms were spotless and welcoming as were the public areas. The 5 course meal was delicious and well presented - should have a Michelin star!! The breakfast was everything we expected and we managed it although still full from the night before. A special mention to the staff who were friendly without gushing and couldn't do enough for you. Nothing was too much trouble. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The pictures don't do this place justice! Gorgeous surroundings, delicious food from a varied menu, comfy, modern accommodation with luxury amenities. Ample space to chill out with a drink at the end of a days adventures.

Lovely people running the place and nothing is too much trouble

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelleSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Been here twice recently. The first time was so good we truly thought it must have been good luck. Second time even better.

Good room choice is room number 1.

The food is sublime. Not cheap , £ 25.00 pp if staying at hotel, but worth every penny. 5 courses, all of which could feature in a 5 star restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolinex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

A very welcoming establishment. This is the second time we have stayed and the third we have eaten there. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent, tasty and well presented. The pool was beautiful and warm and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was only a lumpy pillow which gave my wife cause not as good a night sleep as she normally receives. The weather was wet but the welcome was warm.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ac840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

From the moment we arrived for dinner, we were non residents, we felt like we were on a conveyor belt!. We were ushered into the dining room earlier than booked and seemed to reach the dessert course in record time. Twice we were asked if we had finished and each time couldn't answer as we still had food in our mouths! We asked for a break after the main course which was respected. I appreciate it was a busy night & the dining room appeared full but our evening was not a relaxed one. The staff were polite and the food was faultless, what a pity we couldn't take our time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 43S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Having not been to Lyzzick for years, I had forgotten how delightful it is. A party of us recently went for Sunday lunch to celebrate my mum’s 80th birthday. We were greeted by a very friendly waitress who showed us in to a very cosy lounge, took our drinks orders and distributed the menus (and made a fuss of our little grandson Jack whilst he played with the toys provided by the establishment, much to his delight!).

Having given ample time to make our choices a most pleasant waiter arrived to take our orders.

The food was absolutely superb, as was the service. Being given the option of choosing how each person would like their beef cooked was a very nice touch. The hotel and restaurant has such a nice ambience.

Compliments to the chef, bar staff and cafi (? spelling – who has been there as long as I can remember) and his terrific team of waiters and waitresses. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing