We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recomended”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly Recomended”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were lucky to get a room here last minute as we passed through. It was pricey but well worth it; beautifully done rooms; really excellent genuine service and a great breakfast.
My only tiny observation was that the breakfast portions were pretty small, for the overall cost.
The gardens are really beautiful and the setting is glorious.
The building and our room certainly either was either recently decorated or just the hotel is maintained to an extremely high standard as the décor and cleanliness, and the bathroom were all in tip top condition - immaculate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scot321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    90
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
378
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My travel agent suggested Lyzzick Hall for my 2 night stay in Keswick on my cycling trip through the Lakes District. They couldn't have picked a better location. It is about a mile and a half north of Keswick so you are away from the crowds but close to everything the northern Lake District has to offer. My room was spacious and cozy for one but still would have been fine for two. I got terrific sleep after 2 tough days of cycling. The view from the grounds of the hotel is beautiful even on a cloudy day - a number of the famous fells surrounding Keswick can be seen. For cyclists, it is very close to Honister, Newlands, and Whinlatter Passes, and the C2C route is easily accessible. Breakfast was hearty although fairly standard for what I have encountered in England. Dinner though was astonishingly good - I ate there on both nights of my trip, and have to say that the service was very attentive but never intrusive, and the food was amazing and great value for the price. Highlights for me were the ham hock terrine, the roast rump of lakeland lamb, and the creme fraiche mousse. The meal on my first evening was probably the best meal I have had in my many trips to Europe. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soonerfaninbhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Lyzzick Hall is one of my favourites! We went for a family meal for my grandparents diamond wedding anniversary, the good was beautiful, the staff couldn't do enough for you and the sun was shinning, just to top it off.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHind82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was lovely. Very comfy bed and lovely views from the window. Shower was very poweful and always warm enough.Towels were huge and very luxurious. Towels
were also provided for use in the swimming pool.
Pool was lovely, great after a day walking.
We had a meal in the hotel and the mushroom rissotto was superb, the best I have ever had.
Drinks in the hotel are very reasonable.
The staff are a credit to the owners. They are always happy, helpful and smiling. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lubylu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Arrived for silver wedding celebration - had booked a 'superior' room, upon arrival told we had an upgrade to Robinson room ( because of a cancellation) - good sized bathroom but in our opinion an 'ordinary' bedroom ( the lovely view was over two slate rooves). Frustratingly the hot water supply took a while to come through - not what you would expect in top quaity hotel. Breakfast rushed and not appealing ( overcooked bacon, dry sausage and cold toast) On checkout not asked if we had enjoyed our stay - staff appeared disinterested. Would not recommend - it is overpriced.

Room Tip: Robinson room at the far end of a corridoor so no passing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fox23164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

What a wonderful place which we found at short notice going to stay in Keswick to go to the Theatre by the Lake. Very friendly and welcoming staff on duty, who informed us that they had upgraded our room as they had received a cancellation. A very comfortable and good-sized room - the Derwent Room - with a huge kingsize bed. Lovely clean bathroom.
Dinner was fantastic - great food. Could not fault any of it! However the service was out of this world with a staff that had obviously been well trained to be attentive and notice what was happening to their diners. Only had two of the four courses on offer for the dinner, but that was plenty for us both.
After a great night's sleep we found that breakfast the next morning was of the same high standard both in terns of the quality of the food and the thoughtfulness of the service!
We didn't use the fitness facilities or the spa
Overall a wonderful gem of a hotel set in a stunning location and a super find! We shall return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My family and I stayed at Lyzzick in early Aug, based upon reviews from this web site. We were not disappointed! The room - the Garden Suite - was nice, having a private garden was wonderful, the bath was good, a bit of attention from the grounds staff with fallen twigs, leave, etc in the seating area would be nice... but.... the reason for the 5 stars is not the rooms, nor the pool/spa area - very nice and enjoyable, rather it is the staff, common areas, and food. Often hotels claim they have welcoming and helpful staff and comfortable common areas and then.... Lyzzick Hall does, once you walk in the doors the staff are there to solve all your problems, even those you never really had, and the common areas hit the ideal - in my opinion - of country hotels, lived in, yet utterly clean and maintained, these are places that obviously are there for one reason to make your stay comfortable, books, games, views, and staff members to do whatever, they are all there. Then the kicker, the food, others have discussd the breakfasts, I agree with those who say it is a civilized, generously portioned meal with any changes/addtions - I was with two 13 year old girls - are not just tolerated but are suggested, are fine. But breakfast is a minor issue, wait until dinner, just wait....oh it is good, the food is wonderful, the service is great, the management who wander about every night you can tell are there because they want to be there and want to make it better - how, I am not sure, but I wish them luck.

So, at the end of the day, this is one of those places that truly does not meet your expecations, it exceeds them. I see I did not mention the gardens, and terrces, opps, they are very nice too.

Go and enjoy, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archeaologytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing