We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome return” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

With better weather than last November, this is our fourth stay. The room had been recently refurbished and was in extremely clean, tidy and warm, with plenty of room. The staff were extremely helpful and it was nice to catch up with them again. The food was excellent, particularly the Rice Pudding - five stars for that alone. The pool was a little cooler than we remember and you needed to keep moving, but that is what it is all about. Highly recommended yet again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ac840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    88
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
351
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Took advantage of an offer on the hotel website and spent a couple of nights at the Lyzzick Hall. It had all the ingredients for a great break: large comfortable bedroom, good en suite, excellent food served in a very pleasant pleasant dining room, superb lounges and conservatory with views over the surrounding countryside. The staff were friendly, courteous and enthusiastic and plenty of them in the dining room. It is the sort of place that you want to go back to.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richie-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from a two night break at Lyzzick Hall Hotel.
Really friendly staff , great location and excellent food , the kind of place that restores your faith in the traditional independent UK Hotel.

Room Tip: Get a south facing room at the front , the views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterheating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This was a surprise booked for me by my husband and it was an excellent choice. I echo all the other comments about the super staff and their enthusiasm and willingness to help in any way.
We were in Grisedale, a superior room, spacious with lovely views out towards Keswick. After some hiccups on our first evening with the heating/hot water there was a plentiful supply of both. The bathroom was very clean, with nice big towels and a powerful shower. Pool towels and robes are also supplied - though you may want to bring flip flops to walk to the pool!
The pool area itself was perhaps looking a little tired but the water temperature was very pleasant and the Jacuzzi great. We were surprised how quiet it was too, had the pool to ourselves the majority of the time. We didn't use the sauna. I'm sure the views out from the pool would have been lovely too but it was completely steamed up because of the weather outside and the temperature inside.
Downstairs there are 2 lovely lounges, one with a roaring log fire, and supplied with magazines, books and games. There is also a more contemporary garden room. The small bar area is very comfortable too - excellent local gin by the way, Langtons.
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and the food was excellent - the 4 course dinner has plenty of choice, both meat, fish and vegetarian. There is also a very good wine list - lots of Spanish wines of course but a good selection of others as well. I can particularly recommend the cinnamon pannacotta - delicious! Service was attentive though at times a little too quick for our liking and we used a few ploys to slow things down. After all, food of this quality needs to be savoured!!
Breakfast was also very good and it makes a nice change for it to be served rather than the ubiquitous buffet. Our slight quibble is that sliced bread for toast is a let down (especially after the lovely bread on offer at dinner) and that what I'm pretty sure was Golden Shred marmalade is also disappointing - isn't there a major marmalade competition hosted in a stately home not far from here?
It is in an ideal position if you like walking the fells, or even just along the road at the back of the hotel for great views towards Keswick and the lake. It's a short drive into Keswick itself and handily placed for getting to lots of places.
Would we return - yes!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youngatheart6248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel offers really fine cuisine with breath taking views and a comprehensive extremely well priced quality wine list.
Never fails to delight. The lunch menu a 5:5:5 menu sparkles. Trout parfait to start, a shoulder of lamb, no fat no sinew, pure lamb and succulent. Outstanding vegetables, chicory, sweet potato and a potato slice I need to eat again very soon. The Merlot was outstanding and so reasonably priced however the proprietors know their wines and do not disappoint bottles starting around £16 without the usual 300% markup. Puds to die for.
Everything is really top notch... the dining room lovely with great views. Relax pre and post dinner in the lounges-2, or sit in the conservatory and enjoy the view of 'Cat Bells'.
I wished I was staying the night as the evening menu is a colossus.
Don't pass this place by.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

From the moment you arrive until the time that you leave you are made to feel a very special guest.
An outstanding country house hotel that overs real value for money. The food and service in the dining room were, like the rest of the hotel, first class

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed had a two night stay at this lovely hotel. From the moment we walked through the door the staff were of course helpful and attentive but they were so also relaxed that we were somehow treated like 'family' and didn't feel like anything was too much trouble. It was just our place to come and go for the time we were there. It felt like a safe place for the children to wander about but also an adult place to relax and unwind in front of the fire.
We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis and the food was fabulous! Again nothing too much for the staff to do for the kids (even down to warm milk with the weetabix) if necessary but a menu that even the fussiest eater would find hard to pick over and find nothing to satisfy their appetite.
A superb base to enjoy all the lakes from and one we hope to return too again and again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing