We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be faulted - super place in every way”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cannot be faulted - super place in every way”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We visited for a family celebration in December 2013 . for father in laws 80th .
A very warm welcome on arrival and shown to the beatuful lounge with roaring log fire and views across to Catbells and Borrowdale .

The team at Lyzzick have got the hopitality absolutely perfect , with the right balance of friendliness and effieciency .

Our lunch was superb , absolutely beautiful food , super service , everyone in our party of 6 enjoyed their meal immensely .

Lyzzick is an absolutely excellent venue , the food and service is top notch and at a very good price given the standards . The lovely decor and ambience just toped off a massively rewarding and enjoyable experience . Does'nt get better than this in my book and we dine and travel extensively .

Cant recommend highly enough - and was happy to pick up the bill , worth every penny .

Room Tip: we just dined
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiamB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    90
    25
    2
    2
See reviews for
94
378
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the end of November for a short break . Lyzzick Hall was brilliant,all the staff were welcoming and professional. The meals were a real treat. congratulations to the chef and his team. We had the pool pretty much to ourselves and it was lovely to have a dip after a walk and before dinner.

Our room (whinlatter) was ok and had everything we would require, but smell in the bathroom when the kitchen were cooking, but this is a very minor gripe. we did sleep very well. The breakfast was to a high standard and plenty of good quality choice. It was nice to be served.

Our best stay in the lakes yet, and if I see a deal again will make the long drive to return here, many thanks to everyone at Lyzzick

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Having literally just returned from a 1 night stay at Lyzzick Hall and it was magical. We were fortunate to be upgraded in room on arrival however the service and food were just fantastic. I couldn't recommend Lyzzick Hall highly enough a fantastic hotel in a stunning setting.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JohnHodges0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed for 1 night just before Christmas. There was a group of 6, and we had a really good time. Nothing was too much trouble even at this busy time of year. A really 'olde world' type hotel, but the rooms had all the usual modern amenities. The food was excellent and service just superb. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulinleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed one night with friends at the beginning December. As expected the staff were great, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. If I have one criticism it is that the menu was very 'gamey' this time ie pigeon, mallard etc. Not to everyones liking.
This year we remembered to take our swimming costumes and had a great couple of hours to ourselves in the pool, sauna etc. Bliss! We will be going back next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We arrived Sunday lunchtime for a one night stay and found the car park completely full.... slightly irritating but a good sign. Check-in was friendly and efficient and despite the dining room being full we were found a casual table for 6 and plied with fresh sandwiches and drinks. We had booked 3 double rooms all of which were huge, very well appointed and with fantastic views down the valley. The dinner and breakfast could not be faulted with ample choice and beautifully cooked.
The layout is quirky and a sat-nav would have been helpful in finding our room but this added to the charm. The temperature in the public areas was slightly too warm (but better than being too cold).
We had a delightful stay and will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyp949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

The best weekend we as friends have had for a long time.
16 for evening meal..5 courses ,just light bites, to start perfect,main meal was all so well cooked and we all got served together, sweets to die for too.well done to the staff,so kind and thoughtful ,
Rooms gorgeous,so was the Xmas tree! And breakfast very good,but in this day and age feel a little buffet type table would be welcome,I don't want someone asking me do I want rice krispies,weetabix etc i like to look and chose, perfection nearly lol,,

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
19.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing