We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Country House Hotel”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have been staying at Lyzzick Hall for almost twenty years and have seen the changes and improvements. It was always excellent with warm and friendly service and excellent food. Over the last few years some major refurbishment has taken place. Some of the older smaller rooms have been enlarged by knocking three rooms into two, making some 'suites' and some larger rooms. The bathrooms are all modern with copious hot water.

The restaurant is one of the finest in any hotel. The quality of the evening meal is excellent and the chef uses as much locally sourced produce as possible, all freshly prepared to order. The breakfast is delicious and sets you up for the day. First of all you are offered tea or coffee and then your order is taken. Again, the breakfast is freshly cooked using local bacon, eggs
and sausage.

We enjoyed a lovely large double room overlooking the herb garden but in previous years we have stayed in one of the 'premium' front rooms overlooking the fells and also in the 'Garden Room'. These rooms are all you could wish for. We have also had a smaller room near the swimming pool which was, again, very comfortable. The indoor swimming pool is very pleasant, being in a lovely sunny location with sliding patio doors for warmer days. There is also a jacuzzi and sauna.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly and a number of them have worked at Lyzzick Hall for many years.

Lyzzick Hall is a real gem and we have not found another hotel that matches it for quality, service, food and location!

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are near the swimming pool. Being an old house, it is a little bit of a maze with...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerseyMiss21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Lyzzick Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Just returned from celebrating our Golden Wedding at Lyzzick Hall . The location,friendly staff, food and attention to detail were first class. Sixteen members of our immediate family were present over 4 days and not one complaint says it all. Two members of the Royal Family were in the next room,this truly shows how highly this hotel is rated.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is not only set in the most beautiful of places with stunning views is also has THE most amazing staff. Friendly, helpful, knowledgeable nothing is too much for the team at the Lyzzick. I have been here for a short stay for some years now and it never ever disappoints!

Room Tip: Views are probably best from the front of the hotel but it doesn't matter really as as soon as y...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Peter and I have just returned from a couple of days in our favourite hotel in the Lakes. As always , the staff were very attentive, the food fabulous and the whole ambience of the place is just wonderful. The hotel is immaculately looked after. Everywhere is spotless, beautifully decorated and wonderful flowers everywhere both inside and in the gardens. The pool area is well kept and a swim, jacuzzi and sauna is just the ticket after a day walking up the fells. We will return!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JaneFarnsfieldnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

From picking up the phone for my initial enquiry to the minute I walked out of the door my experience in this hotel was wonderfully relaxing, a step away from the hustle and bustle or city corporate hotels and into a world of warm friendly faces that in no way detracted from their professionalism and standards.

Stunning valley/peak views were superbly complimented by the excellent food included in the dinner bed and breakfast package backed up by a comprehensive wine list.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the coming months whilst in the lakes on business

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This was our 3rd annual visit to Lyzzick Hall and it's always a bit of a risk returning to somewhere that has been so pleasing, in case it's not quite the same. Well we were not disappointed. The hotel was excellent again in every way. We were in room 9 which was fresh and spotless with a pristine bathroom and a pleasant view of the herb garden.
The pool area was lovely and the food, well, the best around and that's saying something in this part of the world.
The staff are just lovely, every one of them, nothing is too much trouble and the restaurant service is spot on.
It's pricey, but worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjh97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My girlfriend and I spend an evening at the lyzzick hall hotel on valentines day 2014. It was one of the nicest hotel stays we have ever had. The hotels swimming pool and sauna were amazing, the views all around are second to none and the food was out of this world. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone. Great place to visit. Thank you so much for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmanJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range: £139 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing