We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food and Service”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times however on this visit it was just for dinner. The service remains exemplary and we had a couple of drinks in the bar pre dinner, the food was simply superb, we opted for the fixed four course dinner with coffee at £38 per person.I had scallops with pancetta for starter, soup for second course with fillet steak for mains. Simply couldn't fault anything, never even considered using any condiments as the seasoning was perfect. Had a very nice toro red wine at under £20 finished off the evening with very large Osborne 1866 brandies in the comfortable lounge. All in with pre dinner drinks, food , wine and brandies the bill was £122 which was superb value. What a great chef here. Well done

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevesid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    93
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
97
395
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

There is a lovely relaxed feel to this hotel. The staff are very friendly and not too stuffy or pompous. The hotel itself is beautiful and offers stunning views across the valley, either from the lounges, conservatory, terrace or swimming pool. We dined in on both nights of our stay and the food was first class. Like most of the previous reviewers, we hope to go back - regularly!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Like other reviewers, we have returned many times to Lyzzick and find it a gem. The views are stunning and the gardens look trim and beautiful at all times of year. The recent new decorations make the Hotel look more modern and very attractive (though the wallpaper opposite Reception is a little scary - think Day of the Triffids meets Chinese restaurant).

We always enjoy breakfast and the presentation for dinner is second to none. Good meat dishes, good vegetarian – well done, Lyzzick for that. The Spanish connexions at the hotel ensure their Rioja is really first class.

One small gripe: we sometimes get the sense staff are on automatic pilot at meal times and they whizz through the ordering and service as if their mind was on other things. We only want ‘You’re welcome’ if we really are.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennisnickleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend away at Lyzzick Hall to celebrate our wedding anniversary and what a place to celebrate. Everything about this hotel is excellent, the gardens are beautiful and well kept, the hotel itself is very well decorated and immaculately clean. It has a small bar area and large restaurant. 2 lovely lounges to relax in with amazing views overlooking the Cumbrian Fells. The pool area is great, with a jacuzzi & sauna, its for the sole use of hotel guests so we had the pool to ourselves for 2 hours 1 day.We had dressing gowns in our room, so went to the pool in them, no hassle with getting changed etc, pool towels are provided also. We upgraded our room to the Whinlatter and is was worth the extra money, large & spacious with amazing views. There was an issue with water on the Saturday night and Sunday morning, which they handled extremely well under difficult circumstances and gave us a large discount off our bill which we did not have to ask for, along with a very large apology. I think what makes this hotel extra special though is the staff. From the second we walked in till the second we left they couldn't of done more for us, we felt very special and looked after and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is of the highest quality, along with the service. Breakfast is cooked to order, no buffet style in this hotel. It's in a great location for getting out and about. We didnt want to go hill walking so we went to Buttermere and walked round the lake, it takes about 3 hours and is a lovely leisurely stroll, take a picnic and stop half way round there is plenty of places to stop and relax. I would highly recommend this beautiful place to anyone, and will most definitely be going back................. soon i hope!!

Room Tip: We upgraded so we got the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happygirl186326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Well run family hotel,excellent swimming pool and water is always warm. Excellent sauna. Food is of a very high quality.service and staff excellent- friendly and informative. Pricey but feel it is worth it.
We have been several times and never been disappointed booking a standard room.
Location is stunning ,well kept gardens and large parking area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have been staying at Lyzzick Hall for almost twenty years and have seen the changes and improvements. It was always excellent with warm and friendly service and excellent food. Over the last few years some major refurbishment has taken place. Some of the older smaller rooms have been enlarged by knocking three rooms into two, making some 'suites' and some larger rooms. The bathrooms are all modern with copious hot water.

The restaurant is one of the finest in any hotel. The quality of the evening meal is excellent and the chef uses as much locally sourced produce as possible, all freshly prepared to order. The breakfast is delicious and sets you up for the day. First of all you are offered tea or coffee and then your order is taken. Again, the breakfast is freshly cooked using local bacon, eggs
and sausage.

We enjoyed a lovely large double room overlooking the herb garden but in previous years we have stayed in one of the 'premium' front rooms overlooking the fells and also in the 'Garden Room'. These rooms are all you could wish for. We have also had a smaller room near the swimming pool which was, again, very comfortable. The indoor swimming pool is very pleasant, being in a lovely sunny location with sliding patio doors for warmer days. There is also a jacuzzi and sauna.

The staff are very welcoming and friendly and a number of them have worked at Lyzzick Hall for many years.

Lyzzick Hall is a real gem and we have not found another hotel that matches it for quality, service, food and location!

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are near the swimming pool. Being an old house, it is a little bit of a maze with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerseyMiss21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from celebrating our Golden Wedding at Lyzzick Hall . The location,friendly staff, food and attention to detail were first class. Sixteen members of our immediate family were present over 4 days and not one complaint says it all. Two members of the Royal Family were in the next room,this truly shows how highly this hotel is rated.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,366 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing