We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a good break”
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Such a good break”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Family run hotel. Gorgeous room (Garden Room). Lovely gardens. Superb food (Dinner and Breakfast). Warm swimming pool, hot tub with views. So friendly and relaxing. Return visit after a long time and it just gets better. Be sure to take the DB&B rate and let your taste buds be amazed!

Room Tip: Take DB&B. Dinner is fabulous. Also I could not get WiFi and O2 was intermittent, so you HAVE to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    93
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
97
394
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I grew up in the keswick area and when I went home for a family birthday Lyzzick was first choice. it's a Fantastic hotel. The staff are great, rooms lovely, delicious breakfast and stunning views. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpmorton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our party of five couples arrived one Sunday evening for a two-night break. We always meet yearly on the second weekend in May, intended to miss the first Spring holiday rush. The hotel was fairly busy and seemed to be coping well with the numbers in the dining room, Dinners were good but not exceptional, breakfasts somewhat disappointing. The "full English" proved a less good choice than the individual selections, scrambled eggs and bacon being rated highly by two of our party. Toast was thin and soggy and the home-made marmalade was too runny to stay in place! Our standard double room was comfortable, warm and quiet with a well-fitted en suite bathroom. The hotel stands in its own large and well-kept grounds, many rooms having gorgeous views of the not-so-distant fells.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are comfortable, well-equpped but cheaper and thus better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arrived on the Friday and the hotel and gardens looked lovely. We checked in and went to our room. We booked Helvellyn which was nice but not as nice as we expected for the money. It was lovely and clean though. Shame when we opened the windows as we got invaded by some flying infects. Not sure what they were but that's the joy of being in the country in the warm weather I suppose. We do like to sleep with the window open at night but sadly this was a no no. My husband tried the pool and said it was lovely and warm and he had the whole pool to himself. Our booking included evening meal which we really enjoyed Friday evening. The dining room is very well laid out so no listening to other peoples conversations. Breakfast the next morning was really good and the porridge was tasty (something I would not normally order). We decided not to eat out on the Saturday lunch time as we didn't want to spoil our evening meal. We had the taster menu on Saturday which we really enjoyed and we weren't rushed which was also nice. Sadly we were awake all night with upset stomachs and feeling really unwell. The next morning we could only eat a slice of toast so decided to checkout a day early and head home. Shame really as we were having a lovely time until then.

Room Tip: Helvellyn overlooks the pool and gardens more than the fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jak467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wow, that's all I have to say, well a few more words. We were met with a warm welcome, seated and served with drinks whilst we checked out the menu. The view from the reception area was stunning, but we did have the sun.
We all decided on the £39 per head menu (service included!!) and the best bit was that you could pick and mix, but when it started to arrive we were glad it was not any bigger!

I had the slow cooked shoulder of beef and it was just fantastic.

This is the second time we have been to the Lyzzick and we were not disappointed.

Make sure you book a table by the window as the views across the valley as the sun went down was just superb.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marki1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent four day break here. Very relaxing hotel in a beautiful setting with amazing views. Very friendly, well organised and thoughtful staff made all welcome. Food in the restaurant was varied and of high quality. Swimming pool beautifully clean and warm. The hotel is close to the town of Keswick and a great base for getting around the area. Definitely recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cb94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I cannot recommended Lyzzick Hall highly enough. The building, grounds and rooms were fabulous but special mention must go to the staff who made our stay wonderful. The Garden Room was excellent - very spacious and comfortable. Lovely swimming pool with awesome views. Both breakfast and evening dinner in the restaurant were excellent. Food was well presented, very tasty and featured a good mix of local ingredients. Our two children were also made to feel extremely welcome. All in all an excellent hotel in a stunning setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,362 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing