We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
550
101
27
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
101
27
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauna and jacuzzilovely hotelfour courseslake districtgarden roomcountry house hotelstunning viewshigh standardcourse dinnerdb bpublic roomssunday lunchsuperior roomfantastic foodfirst classbirthday treatlong walk
Filter
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2009

We have been staying at this hotel almost every year for the past 15 years and it is fantastic. We have had one or two trips to the Lakes where we have stayed in similar priced hotels but found nothing comparable. Staff are so helpful and friendly, the evidence of a good family run hotel. Evening meals are amazing (the main reason we keep going back) and the staff are very accommodating of young children (will serve children's tea at 6pm if you let them know in the morning). Breakfast is a bit b&bish (but cooked breakfasts are very good). Swimming pool is warm (it is ok for children but deep) and jacuzzi very welcome after a day of walking. Views from some of the rooms are fantastic and they are in the process of doing up/extending some of the rooms. Recommend it highly - back there again for a long weekend this year!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I have been to this hall several times with my immediate family. This time was the first time we took other family members. Heard the expression you get what you pay for? The best views. The friendliest and most professional and attentive staff. The most amazing food (only had better once and that was at a mitch. star restaurant in New York). Love everything about this place. Also has a great swimming pool, garden area etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CET71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Having been coming to this hotel for a number of years we did not expect to be placed outside the hotel. Unfortunately, we were placed in an 'annex' which was warm but shabby and nothing like being in the hotel itself. We did not stay for the number of nights booked as we would not remain in a room such as the 'annex' for that length of time. It was obviously converted from a garage, situated right beside the kitchen. Though we were assured that no noise would be heard this was patently ridiculous. Last thing at night was bad enough but no one wants to be wakened long before breakfast with pots clattering. Since this room is priced like the others, it was very poor value for money. We consider that this room should not be used at all by a hotel which clearly prides itself on its service and customer care.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Mountcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We had a room in the main hotel, it was spacious, well equipped and the bathroom was spacious and seemed to have been newly equipped. There were 2 steps down into it which could be a problem to some guests.

We had dinner on 2 nights and there was a good choice and the quality of meat and fish was exceptional. The breakfast menu was comprehensive and the only disappointment was the quality of the fruit juices which could be improved. The service was good and friendly without being intrusive.

There are 2 comfortable lounges with excellent views.

The pool is a good size for an English hotel of this age and the changing facilities are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twolancastrians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

This hotel is quite nice but there are also quite a few things which could be done better.

I feel in it's current form (including the food) it's overpriced.

Pool is great and hot tub and sauna - great to have these facilities after a long days walking.

Lyzzick Hall is missing out by not serving any afternoon tea - just biscuits (which were tasteless just sugary) and a packet of crisps! This is tacky.

We ate here twice and the food was inconsistant, service was very good though.

Breakfast is a typical greasy English ensemble - I think for the standard they are trying to achieve the breakfast needs to be more imaginative (and with real fresh orange juice not "no frills" supermarket juice).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DingleManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews