We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

We have stayed at Lyzzick Hall several times during the last 6 years and have never been disappointed. The surrounding views are amazing, the food is always excellent, the service is perfect and there is a very relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. The owner, Mr Fernandez, and his staff are wonderful. We hope to keep on returning, God willing!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welikegoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    88
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
93
351
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
warwickshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2010

Great service very very good food and a bottle of wine to die for!!!
We will return was amazing

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chunkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We went to this hotel for my mother's surprise 60th birthday weekend and I can honestly say that we could find no fault with anything... the hotel is run to a very high standard by a lovely Spanish family . The food is of a very high standard and it is such good value for money. We had young children in our party who loved the swimming pool and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful with them. The views are outstanding and Keswick is just a five minute drive away. We will definately be returning here.

Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmacGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

Location was quiet and room large and comfortable. Would have been excellent EXCEPT all staff except the reception desk person were unfriendly or even rude and the decor was cold and even shabby. A good decorator could do wonders here and upgrade this place a lot! Everything was clean, though, and the staff did what we asked.
Had 2 dinners here: one was adequate (or probably not, since one of our party got food poisoning from it - tho that could have been unpasteurized cheese) and the second was very good. We had indicated we were celebrating a birthday and even had additional friends join us for dinner, but they did nothing to acknowledge this event.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

I have been staying at Lyzzick for breaks with friends for about 5 years now and have never quite found anywhere we all like so much. It nestles just under Skiddaw mountain by Keswick in the Lake District and has the most spectacular views of the Eden valley and surrounding fells. You can walk up and out of its lovely garden through the hamlets of Underskiddaw (where you might spot a red squirrel or a wallaby) and onwards with the fells and Derwentwater on your right and the mountain on your left, or go the other way to sight carefully guarded Ospreys nesting. The lovely family of several generations who run it are Spanish and incredibly hospitable. The rooms are very well looked after and comfortable and look out on to some lovely views (including a little mediterranean-style courtyard). There is a small pool with views over the glorious valley and the service is immaculate, they genuinely look after you. The food is really, really good - local people come to eat here and the dining-room is always full of happy people. Because the hotel is small, you get breakfast cooked beautifully to order. Bring clothes with a forgiving waistband.

I had a minor niggle this time as two of us were only able to get a 'superior' twin room which is £100 DB&B per night instead of £80 standard and I'm not sure the bigger spa-style bathroom warranted the rise but I have been spoiled by their very good prices of course. The reason was a wedding and Lyzzick certainly attracts its fair share of these although we have never been made to feel at all marginalised as a guest by such party bookings (can't say the same for all other hotels) and the hotel regulate them and the space very well. The trouble with 'hidden gems' like this is they don't stay hidden partly because people like me recommend them to all our friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamperLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

This is a gem on the hillside just outside Keswick.
The cleanest Hotel and rooms we have ever stayed in regardless of star rating.
The staff were all so friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
The food was fabulous and such good value
We will be going back and telling everyone about this one

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanisYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport,U.K.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

Walking into the hotel was like going into a family home. Two lovely sitting rooms overlooking the mountains. The evening meal was excellent and the staff and owner friendly and attentive.
Hotel has a swimming pool which is very welcoming after walking.
Look forward to returning to Lyzzick Hall.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Under Skiddaw
20.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
5.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyzzick Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyzzick Hall Hotel

Property: Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Address: Under Skiddaw | near Keswick, Under Skiddaw, Keswick CA12 4PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Under Skiddaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Under Skiddaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lyzzick Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lyzzick Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Lyzzick
Lyzzick Hall Hotel Keswick, Cumbria - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing