We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly little cafe”

Woodhouse Cafe Keswick Garden Centre
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Popped in for lunch while visiting friends in the area to be met with a lovely warming wood burning stove (on a very cold and wet day) and a friendly welcome. Great food from the small kitchen. We went for toasted sandwiches (I recommend the Brie and bacon) and cup of tea . . . really nice. Cosy little cafe which beats others in the area. We will certainly be coming back!

1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Called on a cold, wet, windy day, and fancied a good heart-warming bowl of soup. I was disappointed to be presented with two bowls of tinned, watery soup which could be purchased at any local supermarket, and was charged £7.50. First and last visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lizzied338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew L, Owner at Woodhouse Cafe Keswick Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

We are really sorry to hear your visit was disappointing, we pride ourselves on offering the best range of quality food that we can, with our limited facilities. While our soups are not currently 'home-made', unlike the rest of our menu, they are a good quality catering soup. With a choice of 4 varieties daily.

This will all change however, when our brand new, full service 'Garden Cafe' and tearooms open next year. In which we will be able to offer an even more extensive 'home-made' menu. In the meantime I will have a look at how we can improve our soups to make what we offer as good as possible. We do hope to see you again if you are passing.

Thanks for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We popped in on our way back to our holiday park (Skiddaw View) for a pot of tea and a scone.
Lovely friendly little place. Great atmospher, friendly staff and good food / beverages.
They also sell proper homemade ice cream unlike the tea room further up the road at Dodd Wood ( Osprey visitors ) .
Well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RoystonBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Fantastic place to visit and they welcome well mannered dogs. Very relaxing tea room with lovely wood burner, the staff seem to enjoy looking after their customers! the food choice is good and prepared in full view and nicely presented. Ideal place to relax before perusing the well equipped garden centre, I find the staff very friendly, knowledgeable, and more than willing to help with advice or to placing goods in your car.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank topwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

A small venture which the owners have plans to develop. We called in for a light lunch a couple of days ago whilst visiting the area, and were not disappointed. Very impressed by the welcome from one of the owners, and enjoyed a light lunch, which was just what we wanted. The service was a little slow when we visited, but the food was tasty and well prepared when it arrived. The baked potato, which I'm glad to say was available "with butter only" as well as with the usual toppings, was served with a generous helping of salad. Sandwiches were fresh and imaginative, and my wife enjoyed her brie and cranberry sandwich with salad. We also bought a couple of cakes for the road. Overall, a very positive experience, and we shall certainly be back, even if it means diverting from the M6 !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CeithFaclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodhouse Cafe Keswick Garden Centre also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Under Skiddaw, Keswick
 

Been to Woodhouse Cafe Keswick Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing