We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Farm Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnthwaite Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burnthwaite Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wasdale Head
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Farm Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Yet another great stay at Burnthwaite, very relaxed and laid back attitude but nothing is ever too much trouble for Andrew and Sue and they will see to your evey need, very clean and comfortable beds, keep up the good work we will hopefully see you in March.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alfiec0cker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
38
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I've stayed here twice and love it!. The location is out of this world; the breakfasts are lovely and social and you get to meet lots of interesting people; its unbelievable value; the living room with the fire is so cosy; there is no phone reception or wifi so you completley relax; and to cap it all Coleridge once stayed here;

To be honest the rooms are not that cosy - its not boutique luxury - the lighting could be improved and we had an outside bathroom; however, you never want to leave. Now one my favourite place in the Lakes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Burnthwaite farm was warm and cosy. we went for the basic room which was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and we had a packed lunch which was also very good and generous. Overall excellent value and beautiful location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_and_Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

It's like stepping back in time with the flower duvets and crossing the hallway to the toilets (some have en-suite) but funnily enough, all of this is what adds the charm to such a spectacular B&B (really traditional). It's the warmth of the place that hits you as you arrive - not just the wood burning stove but Andrew the owner - you get to relax in a lovely lounge and make tea/coffee and then in the morning he serves the best English Brekkie. EXACTLY what you need before you walk up a mountain! Also on offer are bottles of water and packed lunches made to order. Location is something that no amount of money could buy, so imagine our pleasure at only £58 per night (for 2). Please go and visit; it's a place to make ever-lasting memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have stayed here many times and thoroughly enjoyed every visit. The location is truly stunning, probably the best in the district! The farm itself oozes history and the hosts are terrific company. I will continue to return as often as I can!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I am pleased to confirm the positive reviews of this place. Good (large) breakfast and you can order a lunch to take out on your walk which is more than sufficient. In fact the meals and the food in the evening at the nearby inn did nothing for the waistline despite all the walking. Great hosts and the place has a pleasant pervasive hint of wood smoke from the wood burner in the resident's lounge with welcome warmth as soon as you come in from the damp weather.

Yes the facilities are basic but more than adequate and the opportunity at my visit on the 25th July to see the sheep shearing going on in the nearby outbuildings was great for this town dweller. Its a long way of the beaten track but no worse for that. Its great to be able to sit in a comfortable chair reading without the ability to have a mobile phone signal or access to the Internet. It proves they are convenient but not essential... and there is always a land line if you have to communicate with the busy outside world.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have just recently stayed at burnthwaite farm, as we had planned a hike up scafell pike which was hard going but worth it. The farm is tucked away down a narrow track we had a bit of trouble finding it but worth it once we did. It is very cosy the food was lovely and the owners very friendly. It was nice also getting to meet other walkers, the farm is surrounded by mountains, priceless views. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazdebleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasdale Head
5.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
6.3 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Strands Hotel
The Strands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nether Wasdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#2 of 5 in Borrowdale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnthwaite Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnthwaite Farm

Property: Burnthwaite Farm
Address: CA20, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wasdale Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burnthwaite Farm Hotel Wasdale Head
Burnthwaite Farm Wasdale Head, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing