We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasdale Head Inn Campsite...Excellent!”
Review of Wasdale Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wasdale Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wasdale Head Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Wasdale Head B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wasdale Head Inn Campsite...Excellent!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the camping field associated with the inn. There is no advanced booking so it's first come first served but we had no trouble finding a pitch for a large tent. This may have been because it was November and freezing, high summer season may be different. There is no campsite specific parking but plenty of available space to accommodate all vehicle types. The facilities reserved for campers (digital lock codes given at checkin) were perfect and included:2 washing up sinks; separate gents, ladies and disabled toilets each with a shower. The staff at the inn are extremely sociable, knowledgeable and helpful. The food is excellent, the drinks range extensive and the views amazing. All this at a snip of the price of the national trust campsite down the road. I definitely recommend and will stay here again. Excellent!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    153
    37
    29
    29
See reviews for
78
215
37
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We love the stark beauty of this area and a after a good walk up the valley we decided to call in here for lunch. The pub part of the inn is charming and full of character with an impressive selection of ales and whiskies. Our lunch arrived quickly and it was delicious. Another positive for us was that they are very dog friendly here..a new bowl of water was immediately put out for our dog as we sat down. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Don't go to the Wasdale Head Inn expecting luxury accommodation, the finest accommodation or even brilliant broadband. Go there because it's in the most fantastic location at the the head of the brooding and almost overpowering valley that is Wasdale, surrounded by England's most impressive mountains. The inn oozes with the history of Lakeland climbing and I enjoyed every moment of my stay.

I needed to escape from the real world for a three day pre-Christmas break. During three stormy days the electricity stayed on for most of the time, the satellite broadband worked ok and the room was fine. The staff worked hard to make sure my stay was enjoyable and the chef did a great job to deliver dinner when everything electric had stopped working.

And most of all, the Wasdale Head Inn puts you right I the heart of the most dramatic scenery, hill-walking and climbing that England has to offer. Whatever the weather, it will deliver a memorable experience of the great outdoors.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm_Newdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My partner booked a Birthday break for us at this Beautiful hotel with it's perfect location for Mountain walking, very suprised by the high standards ,great food and the staff were very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I recently stayed for a night with my husband for our anniversary. The room was a nice size, the bed lovely and comfortable, but I couldn't use the bath or shower as they were not geared up for disabled people.
Our dog stayed with us, and, as it was quiet, we were upgraded to a garden room, which was unexpected and very nice, with lovely mountain views.
My husband brought me tea to drink in bed so I could sit up and see the mountains, which I had longed to do for decades, so a dream come true.
We had a good breakfast, my husband full English had everything: bacon, sausages, mushrooms, black pudding, fried bread, grilled tomato, fried egg and baked beans. I had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which was nice and hot, and there was plenty of it. Toast was made to order, with plenty of preserves and Marmite, but sadly, the coffee wasn't great.
Staff were friendly and helpful, felt nothing was too much trouble.
We had a meal in the bar in the evening, which was pricey, but good.

Room Tip: The Superior rooms are more spacious with awesome views and private garden, useful if you have a dog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducklet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in self catering accommodation. We cooked our own breakfast but ate in Ritsons Bar each night.
Accommodation was good quality, clean, warm - not luxurious but everything you needed.
Food in pub was good quality and generous. Not too adventurous but good comfort pub food which is what you need after a good walk.
Pub was warm (essential in the Lakes) and comfortable with lovely staff - just weirdly over lit which stops it being cosy.
Highly recommend a visit. It really is a great base for walking and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Having read some reviews I was wary of staying here, poor food slow service etc were mentioned we experienced none of that. We were given a warm welcome, excellent service and great food. The breakfast room was lovely as was the breakfast. I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ferretcroucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasdale Head
4.8 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
5.9 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
777 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
407 reviews
8.5 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
143 reviews
8.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wasdale Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wasdale Head Inn

Property: Wasdale Head Inn
Address: Wasdale Head | Near Gosforth, Wasdale Head CA20 1EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wasdale Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wasdale Head
Hotel Class:4 star — Wasdale Head Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world-famous Wasdale Head Inn, known as the birthplace of climbing, is dramatically surrounded by England's tallest mountains, making it the finest base for walking and climbing. The Inn is situated at the head of remote and unspoiled Wasdale, and if you are seeking the superlative this is where you will find it. England's highest mountain, the deepest lake, the smallest Church, and the original world's biggest liar can all be found in this tranquil corner of the Lake District. The Inn is managed by Georgina Wrathall on behalf of the owners, Nigel and Lesley Burton. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wasdale Head Hotel Wasdale Head
Wasdale Head Inn Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing