We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views.”

Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The world famous Ritson's Bar and Residents' Bar provide a warm welcome for thirsty, hungry and walk-weary guests, 365 days of the year! Ritson's Bar is named after the first landlord, Will Ritson - huntsman, wrestler, farmer, fellsman, guide, raconteur, and the first "World's Biggest Liar". Today the bar is where everyone congregates after a day on the fells, to talk and enjoy the good wholesome bar meals and real ales. In winter most keep warm beside the log burning stove, the garden and beckside tables gaining in popularity as the summer approaches. The Dining Room provides for the heartiest appetite but in a style that has won many awards, and with particular acclamation for breakfast. Service is relaxed and dress codes are informal. High standards of cuisine are maintained. We specialise in Herdwick lamb & mutton when available.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Views.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Popped into the Wasdale head for lunch during a stay in the Lake District. Great place to eat and to celebrate going up England’s highest peak Scafell. The food here was ok and the portions were big. The views all around the place were amazing.
One negative point, the No WiFi sign stating that you have to talk to each other. That’s not a great thing. When you in a location with no phone signals for a week, it great if you can check the weather forecast and keep in touch with family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conrad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    89
    36
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No more sarcastic signs please”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I have to say, that I love this place. After a long day of hiking there is nothing better! When you walk in the staff (generally) friendly and welcoming. I absolutely adore the food here! We have eaten here several times (over two visits to the area) and never head a complaint. It's always hot, delicious and the portions are huge!
I had burgers (venison), vegetarian lasagne and fish and chips (when they did not run out :D.)as well as scampi. All of it gorgeous!
Staff - the ladies are all friendly and welcoming, however I was not sure about one of the gentleman (a bit weird, not exactly a happy chap). Sorry.
My only complaint is the sarcastic signs. For whatever reason there is no longer wifi available. Admittedly it is annoying as one can not get any kind of signal in the area to check weather forecasts or the quick check on e-mail - however, I could live with this. But the sign (specially as there is a another sarcastic comment about customers) is a bit too much. Please change it! It would be enough to say, that we have no internet available.

On the whole, thank you for the great food, great selection of ales, I love the dog treats box and the atmosphere. Great after a long day of hiking or when you don't fancy cooking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katalin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Calorie Replenishment”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Ate here whilst staying at their campsite. Food was standard pub grub but was hot, well cooked and in big portions. Service was good and fast despite it being busy. Its a great place to replace lost calories but won't give your taste buds a particular treat. Beer garden with waterfall and views is amongst best in England in my opinion.

Campsite is okay, well priced although small and with only one shower and two toilets it could get annoying waiting (especially in the rain). A fair bit of noise as well (well loads from a group of boisterous walkers but that is not the establishments fault) but cars at 2am? Come on - guessing taxis or residents from Keswick to hotel. National Trust site is prettier and more secluded but twice as expensive and a shortish walk in the dark if you linger too long at the bar of an evening.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just what I wanted !!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

First of all, the service!.The fellas serving drinks, Georgina, the lady serving breakfast...all of them with a big smile, good mood and a really welcoming feeling!. The food is great....I would recommend everything but a cheese board looks like it is a must have!. I would like to name to Sue as well who was very friendly and charming. Thumbs up!. We will return soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osterode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good food, good cider, hikers portions.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My wife and I arrived here at late lunchtime after hiking in over Black Sail Pass carrying all our kit for a week's walking between hostels - we were quite ready for our lunches and were well served here.
I was pleasantly surprised to find that they have Westons Reserve real cider on tap, a long way from it's native Herefordshire. There were several real ales. Our meals were both very good: my steak and ale pie was substantial, very tasty, full of steak and came with a good pile of chips plus peas. My wife was equally pleased with her califlower cheese.
The pub was welcoming and comfy, and we were greeted with a wag from the resident pooch. The aincient association of dogs and pubs clearly remained the rule at this house as two or three were tucked under their owners tables while we were there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn also viewed

Holmrook, Seascale
Nether Wasdale, Lake District
 
Troutbeck, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Nether Wasdale, Lake District
 

Been to Restaurant at Wasdale Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing