We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing too much trouble”
Review of Tivoli Guest House

Tivoli Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tivoli Guest House
Ranked #8 of 15 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

On arrival to the. Tivoli we were made so very welcome by Maureen and Andy , rooms were of a good standard and clean .The choice for breakfast was varied. I would definitely stay again and recommend this guest house . Linda Kath Gladys BIll and Brett

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Fantastic guest house.
The property is Georgian era and retains all the beautiful architectural features with all the trappings of a homely feel.
The rooms are first class, en suite, warm and comfortable. Breakfast is sensational, big hearty traditional English dish or the choice of continental if that's your thing.
The owners are very kind and welcoming and nothing is too much for them and it is clear that they have put heart and soul into their guest house.
Great value for money.
The only downside that comes to mind is parking - is not easy to get parked anywhere in the town centre though there is a multi storey car park 200m away. (Or ahem, Morrisons food store which is nearby! ).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

myself and some fellow crew members stayed in this guesthouse over the Whitehaven festival the rooms are great,breakfast were big and nice,very friendly,it was nice to get back to a warm room after getting wet and battered by the wind allday,you are about 5/10 mins walk to the harbour,we had 3 single rooms that had 2 singles in each,the beds were comfy,bathrooms are big,showers are great if you are small,apart from that it was a great place,i would defo bring the family to stay here.

Room Tip: the rooms we had were good,it is a three storey building some there is some stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vooducure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This was one of the nicest Guest Houses I've stayed in. The owners were welcoming and breakfast was very good. It worked very well as a base for our 5 day sightseeing/walking holiday around Whitehaven and Keswick, with a good bus link into Keswick.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very warm welcome into a large hallway. The twin room was perfect for us - we had a lot of kit to organise! Really accommodating of our early morning start and still had a good brekkie! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We arrived to a warm welcome from Andy. We had been asked for our expected time of arrival when we booked a couple of days earlier. If you are looking for centrally placed guest house in Whitehaven- Tivoli is a very good option. It was only a few minutes walk to the attractions that Whitehaven has - restaurants etc. The room was light and airy with twin beds that were very comfortable - and gave us an undisturbed nights sleep. A modern bathroom with a large walk in shower. Breakfast served in the breakfast room on the ground floor was cooked to order: full english was excellent. We found the car parks very close by - parked up by the Beacon and paid for remainder of day- free parking after 20.00. We than moved the car at 08.00 as it was Sunday into a street bay nearer the guest house to move luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IRENA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I stayed at the Tivoli Guest House for the start of the C2C. There was a warm welcome and it was great having somewhere safe for my bike. The room was nice and large, and the bed was comfortable. There was a nice big shower as well. For breakfast the sausages and bacon were top quality rather than watery and cheap which was great to see. Touches like filtered coffee and cranberry juice as well as the usual selection were a nice touch as well. I would highly recommend the Tivoli Guest House!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulwoodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehaven hotels
2 mi away
Moresby Hall
Moresby Hall
#1 of 2 in Moresby
200 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 15 in Whitehaven
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chase Hotel
Chase Hotel
#5 of 15 in Whitehaven
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grovewood House B&B
Grovewood House B&B
#6 of 15 in Whitehaven
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Whitehaven
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Guest House

Address: 156 Queen Street, Whitehaven CA28 7BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Tivoli Guest House Whitehaven, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing