We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of C2C Ride”
Review of The Waverley Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Waverley Hotel
Ranked #12 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Start of C2C Ride”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Ten of us stayed here before setting off on the C2C. Not all the rooms had showers or toilets but it was exactly what we needed. The staff were very pleasant and there was a secure area for bike lock up overnight (although you have to carry them through a small reception area, nto a problem for the owner though).

We had a few drinks in the bar which was pleasant. We didn't eat at night but the menu looked good. The breakfast was excellent, set us up for the day ahead.

Some of the group were disturbed by the noise from the nearby club, we understood this was an ongoing issue that the management were trying to sort but it didn't keep them up long.

Would use again if I did the C2C cycle ride again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
13
19
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

A group of us stayed here before setting off on the C2C and for that it is fit for purpose. OK - all the rooms don't have showers and none had toilets but in reality all we needed was a bed for the night for a nominal cost.

The breakfast was good. I can't comment on the bar or other food as we didn't use them.

WIFI was available and OK.

I would not like to think I was spending more than one night here but would stay again if I did the cycle ride again.

Room Tip: Ask for a toilet and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed here at the start of a C2C cycle ride. The location is great for the ride and the breakfast was reasonable. The rooms were not clean and the whole place needs a refit. The shared bathrooms need to be seen to be believed.
When anyone ran a tap in a room (the rooms have sinks), the gurgling would then last 30-40 mins due to blocked drains ( this became annoying in the middle of the night, (as you can imagine). The place is more like a hostel than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerard123York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Let's begin with the good news. The hotel is right in the centre of town, provides a very good breakfast, has friendly staff, and the bar, although rather a blast form the past, is inexpensive. However, the bad news is the hotel is shabby and somewhat claustrophobic. We felt that our small room, while clean and reasonably well equipped, (there was a hair dryer in one of the drawers) needed updating and the door lock, which was very insecure, needed replacing. We had ensuite facilities but they were cramped and lacked an extractor. This caused the bedroom to become rather muggy. The water was piping hot in the morning but only luke warm when we arrived the previous evening. Had this room only cost £50, we would have understood, but at £80 it felt poor value. Perhaps our perceptions of value have been influenced by a recent trip to Texas where, everywhere, (even in the smallest dot on the map) we had rooms twice as nice, twice the size, for half the price, despite the poor exchange rate at the time.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are not ensuite so make sure you check!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel has a lovely Victorian exterior with its very central location. The hotel has fawlty towers-esque features, in particular the stairs, the very cosy bar and dining room. I stayed in Room 5 which is on the first floor, at the rear of the hotel next to the stairs. The room itself was probably the only downside of the stay. It had a very high ceiling but it needs a makeover; the TV was very small with a signal that kept getting interrupted and the bathroom had lino and cheap plastic coverings that need replacing. However the shower was very powerful and the tea/coffee facilities were very good.

I returned to the bar later that evening and was delighted to learn of their very good value whisky offers (£3.5 for a large single malt) and the bar was full of both tourists and locals. The staff kindly warned me that there was nightclub near to the hotel so I may hear some noise, but being a heavy sleeper the room was surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was diligently served and of a very good quality. The staff were absolutely lovely even though they were doing two or three jobs at the same time. Overall, a lovely relaxing stay and I would recommend this hotel as long as your expectations are well managed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbyshirenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our Jolly Boys outing with
12 friends lovely welcome and staff very attentive from the beginning
Rooms comfortable and breakfast was really good quality
All in all ...just what was required by us a

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank championi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Some good points first. The staff were unfailingly friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very clean and the towels and bath accoutrements were good. Breakfast was plentiful and an enjoyable experience.
The not so good include... the room had an en suite but the whole thing was in desperate need of refurbishing. There was nowhere in the en suite to put anything and nowhere to hang wet towels. The TV was the smallest I have ever seen and so far from the bed that you could not watch it from there. The food in the restaurant was problematic. The chicken casserole 'special' was inedible. The sprouts & carrots were badly overcooked and the peas were swimming in water. The sauce looked as though it had been thickened with flour and there were white lumps in it. Really unpleasant. It was replaced with a piece of gammon which was OK.
The total cost for two nights was >£200 and that made it very expensive for what it is.

I would have given it 2 stars except for the fact that the staff were so nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an en suite. Shared facilities are simply never that nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
4.2 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
424 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 14 in Whitehaven
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chase Hotel
Chase Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehaven
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Property: The Waverley Hotel
Address: 13-14 Tangier Street, Whitehaven CA28 7UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel in the Georgian town of Whitehaven in the Western Lake District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Waverley Hotel Whitehaven, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing