We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely come again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would definitely come again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed for two nights on business and the owners made me feel very welcome and were very friendly. The room was excellent and very roomy and the breakfasts were great for a B&B. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessAckroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
80
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The corner house is really really lovely , the room was excellent and the owners were just lovely people friendly helpful, we started there and had an extra night before coming home and were really pleased we did , the large bath at the end of a really hard 3 days was brilliant , and the breakfasts were great

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I were traveling back from Scotland and wanted a couple of nights in West Cumbria as it is an awkward place to get to for a day trip. While researching the B&B’s in the area The Corner House came out on top with fantastic reviews although with Google streetview you can’t actual have a look at the front of the property.

The deciding factor was the bath in the Ennerdale room. At £90 a bit pricey for our budget but it was worth it, money well spent.

As all the reviews have mentioned, Leisa and Dave are perfect hosts, friendly, chatty and a perfect partnership. All the rooms in the house are large you can swing an elephant and still not hit anything.

The Ennerdale at the front is spacious the bed is wonderful. A few very minor niggles such as the creaking floor boards and light spillage from the bathroom in the middle of the night but the room is full of character. The claw footed bath is large and the shower is large enough for three let alone a soapy twosome. The quality of the fixture and fittings and the towels and toiletries is second to none. There is a little switch on the kettle to allow you to boil water at different temperature for tea or coffee which I’ve never seen anywhere before.

The walk down to the centre of Whitehaven only takes 10 minutes and is perfect to walking off the calories. The shops and restaurants are a bit hit and miss but Weatherspoon’s is as always fantastic value for money.

Breakfast is perfect and the order form saves time and energy all round and Leisa won’t bite if you change your mind. Dave makes the best poached eggs. Leisa even allowed me access to her personal supply of Marmite a lovely homely touch. One of the nicest things about the breakfast room is the space, lots of it.

All in all the best ever B&B I have stayed in and well worth the little bit extra for the quality, well done Leisa and Dave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Straightforward_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here before cycling C2C April 2014. Fantastic bike lock up, beds were comfy, room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was the best I'd had in a b&b would highly recommend the porridge & scrambled egg on toast. A must stay b&b for anyone visiting Whitehaven!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Misstripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My overall review is biased.... towards the benefits of the personal touch. There is a world of difference between impersonal perfection and the welcoming atmosphere that The Corner House exudes.
Whilst there are a few issues that the more niggly may fret about - the beds are comfy, the breakfast (with the prior menu preferences) is the best we've had for ages.
What really impressed us was the common touch of the face at the door as we arrived and the warmth exuded by both our hosts.
The laughs about the "Large" breakfast we ordered (before a hard day's work I may add) were appreciated.
Full marks all round.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

A two night stay at the corner house was v enjoyable ,the room was comfy bright and clean with v good coffee and tea making facility. If you like a full English to start the day you won't be disappointed breakfast was one of the best we've had in a b&b if I had one thing too moan about and it's only little we would have liked to check in earlier ,apart from that fantastic stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our first night before starting our c2c. The welcome was friendly and the rooms tastefully decorated . Cleanliness second to none. Breakfast great . Didn't want to leave . Highly recommend it .

Room Tip: Ennerdale room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zxzxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
2.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
The Mansion Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 14 in Whitehaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 14 in Whitehaven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Laurel Bank | Foxhouses Road, Whitehaven CA28 8AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisa and Dave welcome you to The Corner House.This Victorian villa, built in 1863 hosts many original features, including high ceilings, sash windows and fireplaces. We have six rooms to offer our guests. The Corner House is located only a 5 minutes stroll from the historic Georgian port town of Whitehaven. Much of the town dates back to the 1700's when shipping, rum and mining were its main trades. The regenerated harbour side with it's cafes and restaurants is now noted as being the start of the C2C cycle route.At The Corner House's guest facilities include onsite parking, secure cycle store and free WiFi. We pride ourselves on providing the right balance of service and quality that you would expect from a hotel with the personal and friendly atmosphere you would find in a bed and breakfast.Whether it's a romantic weekend away, fell walking, cycling or business, The Corner House offers quality accommodation, comfort and style ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Corner House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast Whitehaven, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing