We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW ! What a Surprise !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grovewood House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grovewood House B&B
Ranked #7 of 14 Whitehaven B&B and Inns
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WOW ! What a Surprise !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Elaine and Terry could not have been more Hospitable. The Room was absolutely lovely and the Bathroom reminded me of " THE LIFESTYLES OF THE RICH AND FAMOUS". It was the best I've ever seen. I live in the USA and unfortunately can not get there as often as I would like to, but for those much closer and visiting Whitehaven, Treat yourself to a night or two at the GROVEWOOD HOUSE and do give our best to Elaine and Terry !!!

RON & BARBARA

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels and bed & breakfasts but this is by far the best. I would highly recommend it. The owners are lovely, the room is beautiful, the well stocked fridge is fantastic. What can i say about the double jacuzzi, spa shower and steam shower? FANTASTIC. It was so clean and the bed was so comfortable. The flapjack is to die for. Definitely worth a visit. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

What a wonderful holiday, we'd never stayed in a b&b quite like this, and definitely none with a bath like the one here! The serve-yourself style breakfast in the room is a fab idea, you aren't restricted to certain times to be up to eat, which means an extra long lie-in in the enormous bed! The bathroom is incredible, it's almost not worth leaving to see the lakes! Elaine and Terry were lovely hosts, nothing was too much, they kindly lent maps and advised us on where to go and what to see. Anyone who stays here must definitely try Elaine's amazing flapjacks, if only we could eat them for breakfast every day! We only gave 3 stars for location, as in Whitehaven it was quite far away from the lakes, however it wouldn't stop us staying here again. This place is worth an extra half hour drive to get anywhere! We're going back this year and we can't wait :) very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha-Christopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

First class B&B- clean rooms,good food, bathroom out of this world!! excellent service from Elaine & Terry. On Sunday our car battery died, Terry not only lent and fitted one of his own so we could get out and about, but ordered a replacement for first thing Mon morning and fitted that one as well. Personal service or what!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Don't know where to start.
It's spacious, spotless, has very friendly hosts. The five star rating doesn't do it justice. A place to really relax in unadulterated luxury. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanCMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Outstanding. For a B&B this is in a different league. Grovewood is the standard of a good boutique hotel. The room and bathroom are fitted to very high standards; the steamroom and jacuzzi bath would not be out of place in a five star hotel.

There is a well stocked fridge with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats, cheese and fresh free-range eggs, you just help yourself. There is also homemade bread and flapjacks plus croissants and bagels. The amount of food provided runs to breakfast and a good light supper if staying for more than one night.

What really makes the place is the warm welcome and great service the owners Elaine and Terry provide, even loaning me their home phone to call home (no charge). There is also free internet access (chain hotels take note). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wageouris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

This was our second visit to Grovewood House and certainly not our last. Fantastic B&B. Charming location and a delight to stay. We were very well looked after, owners very helpful. The spa bath is fantastic and well worth the stay for that alone! Nice touch with the unique style of self service 'breakfast' and I highly recommend the flapjack!! The area is lovely and quiet and great location for walking and visiting Whitehaven, St Bees and exploring the lake district. So pleased we have found this place and will continue to come back for a luxury break away from it all at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
3.4 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
2.0 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grovewood House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grovewood House B&B

Property: Grovewood House B&B
Address: Sandwith, Whitehaven CA28 9UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grovewood House B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your accommodation is in a luxury self-contained unit. Super kingsize/twin bedded room, with flat screen TV, freeview & DVD player, hairdryer, and its own kitchenette/diner. Self-serve healthy continental style breakfast is included. The large en-suite bathroom has a double whirlpool bath, double seam/shower cubicle with his & hers sinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grovewood House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grovewood House B&B Whitehaven, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing