We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Service was great and all the staff were very attentive.
Starters - soup and bread tin. The soup was delicious and the person who had the bread tin enjoyed the big portion with a wide selection of breads.
The main meals were very delicious. The portions were very large.
It is a restaurant with Rooms above it and is hidden up a side street (Church Street) behind Wilkinsons.
Would definitely recommend.
The own downside is the meal prices are £1 - 3 more than I would expect. This pushed up the overall price.
WORTH A VISIT!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neileo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is a review of the restaurant food I had when my wife and I went for a meal on 31st July 2012.
We chose the restaurant at the Georgian House Hotel partly because some other places were closed on a Tuesday (this restaurant is part of a hotel and seems to be open every day of the week) but mainly because I'd heard some good word-of-mouth reports.

The restaurant decor is fresh and clean. Lime green stripes might sound odd but it actually looks great; a kind of modern style with a contemporary twist. The toilets (on the next floor up) are small but very adequate, they smell nice, are well lit and clean.

The wine list has a good selection and it was not over priced. There was a selection of two draft beers (Czech and Italian).

I started with Chicken Liver Pate which was beautifully presented on a large modern plate. It was provided with plenty of soft toast, a bean/pulse salad and Cumberland Sauce. The pate was delicious and there was enough of it to go on all of the toast. The bean/pulse salad was really good but the excellent Cumberland Sauce had a hint of strawberry - the slight sweetness was a stunning addition.

For my main course I had Rack of Lamb and a side of chips. The lamb was presented on mustard mash and the chips were provided separately and were home made (which is rare these days!). Not much more to say but the meat quality was great.

For pudding I had a Milk Chocolate Cube which again was fantastically presented with a strawberry on the side, ice cream, and a dusting of powdered sugar. If you're a chocoholic this is for you. Although it was a small serving it was very rich and tasty meaning I didn't end my meal needing more.

We had liquor coffee which had an intense filter taste and almost a bitter twist which definitely cleansed the palate.

Service was great; very polite and efficient.

I'd definitely go back, if only to try the HUGE burger which I saw being served to another table (and the guy who had it said it was the best he'd ever had).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horrgakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

When arriving at this hotel I was a little apprehensive when I saw the exterior. The check in process was fast and friendly, the room was excellent, we stayed in room 8, the bed was extremely comfortable, the decor and furniture looked new. The ensuite was big and modern, witha freestanding bath. The only negative was no shower cubicle. The food in the restaurant, i had a chicken dish called 'Cumbrian lass' and mu husband had lamb shank, which we joked looked like a whole leg., all was excellent quality both for dinner and breakfast. All staff we dealt with we're friendly and efficient. I would definitely stay here on any other visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5un5eeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This was the second time I have stayed here on business and I was equally pleased both times. The rooms are really well equipt, perfectly cleane and well decorated. The lady that checked is in was very helpful and friendly and a pleasure to deal with. The breakfast was also very good, with good local produce being served. The only bad points were that, the young lad that served breakfast and did the check out was bordering on rude with his abruptness and lack of a smile or any kind of friendly demeanour. Also the atmosphere in the restaurant is very strange, it's not dissimilar to a library. The only other thing to bear in mind is the lack of a car park; you have to park on the street and walk in. There is plenty of on street parking available within a 3 minute walk so it's no real bother. I would only stay here now, when in West Cumbria as its far better than anywhere else I've tried.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenJones0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here recently for 2 nights on a business trip. Despite being in the middle of Whitehaven their location just off of the main street means that they are tucked away and I drove past once without realising! The room had everything I needed without being full of useless things that some hotels seem to think people want. Food in the restaurant was lovely, and very well priced, and the staff were helpful and friendly.

The only thing I could fault is the lack of dedicated parking. There is on street parking and lots of car parks nearby, but nothing right outside and I'm lazy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The food was very good. We had "tapas" and everything was tasty.
Atmosphere is a little strange, can here every word that the person on the next table says.
Bill was only £60 with a £32 bottle of wine...can't fault it for that price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnanicetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This venue serves lovely food in a great modern atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Glenfield House
Glenfield House
#4 of 15 in Whitehaven
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House Hotel

Address: 8-11 Church Street, Whitehaven CA28 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitehaven
Price Range: £67 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Georgian House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian House, Whitehaven accommodation. Set amidst the stunning conservation area surrounding the pretty town of Whitehaven and Winner of the Best Accommodation Provider for two years, The Georgian House Hotel provides exceptional accommodation, the finest cuisine and a genuinely warm welcome. A holiday, short break or visit to The Georgian House Hotel places you at the heart of Whitehaven town centre with easy access to the many local attractions and amenities. Whitehaven is located on the popular west coast of Cumbria, at the edge of the Lake District, where some of the most beautiful and scenic countryside in England can be enjoyed. Stay in comfort, Whitehaven & Cumbria Hotel & Restaurant. Whether you are staying in Whitehaven for business or pleasure, The Georgian House Hotel will make your stay a delight. From the great service, freshly prepared meals, attractive décor, comfortable rooms, hearty breakfasts and modern facilities, to the friendly service and excellent location – your stay will be memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Georgian House Hotel Whitehaven, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing