We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitehaven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Georgian House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitehaven
Certificate of Excellence
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like home”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Have stayed here for 2 nights in April 2014 on a business trip. The place is very well designed and arranged. The room had everything a hotel room needs down to details, was spacious with a large bathroom where everything worked. Wifi worked well, I was able to work from the room. Dinner was excellent, menu varied and very well cooked. Breakfast had everything I wanted and I usually have in the morning. I could not find fault with anything throughout my stay, the hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Well located for a good walk down the sea. This is now my preferred place to stay in Whitehaven.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian_bruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    19
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
32
4
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whitehaven
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

frist for all o live in witehaven myself and this hotel to me is speecail beasuse when i was 30 yeras old i went they for my brithday and it spcail tucked way down church street it one of the best palces to go for family or with work for easter or christmas as well so i hope one day i will go back for other brithday soon

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Tucked down Church Street, about 60 yards from Lowther Street in the middle of Whitehaven is THE hidden GEM in Cumbria. While on business, I stayed at the Georgian House Hotel for 5 weeks in Jan – Feb 2014 and came back for another 3 weeks in March (I would not stay anywhere else!).

Stephanie and Lee are the greatest hosts – welcoming guests with a smile and wanting to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The staff is wonderful and always offering to help. The room pictures are what the rooms actually look like!! They are stylish, comfortable and very clean!!!

When you stay at the Georgian House, you don’t need to go anywhere else. They have a comfortable lounge upstairs and the BEST, reasonably priced food downstairs in the restaurant (it’s where the locals eat on week-ends!!) The kebobs are superb, the garlic prawn surf and turf wonderful (best steaks I’ve eaten in the UK), the fried chicken goujons and lemon sole goujons tasty, and the pork rib tapas a meal in itself. Everything on the menu is always well presented and VERY good!!! But don’t forget breakfast! Made to order – everything from porridge to poached eggs and back bacon, eggs benedict, or a full English, with kippers if you choose!

Thanks Stephanie and Lee !!! Hope to see you again real soon!!! Tom

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TReynolds2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have had 8 trips to the Georgian House over the past 5 weeks! I stay here when working on t'other side o' Pennines but this doesn't mean that I would stay here for pleasure trips!

I cannot thank the staff enough for looking after me and being so understanding when I am always the last one down for brekkie!

All the rooms are comfortable and fully appointed with lots of home comforts. Room 3 on Sundays, room 6 for wednesdays and as a treat room 7 with the spa bath! Photos attached.

Room 3 is located at the rear of the property and has a BIG bed. This is good for me as I find normal doubles more akin to a single nowadays. It is next to the lounge but as the restaurant isn't open on a Sunday this is not a concern. The bathroom has been refurbished since my last visit and this is much improved! Big deep bath with overhead shower, now I don't normally take a bath but couldn't resist this one. TIP;- don't have the window blind too far down as it hids the big on/off button to actually operate the bath/shower! Once found it filled up quickly and had loads of hot water.

Room 6 is located at the front on the 2nd floor which is above the lounge but last orders in the restaurant is before 9pm the any noice associated was non-existent! Bathroom has a shower cabinet which even I can turn round in without sticking to the sides. There is a road at the front but with Whitehaven's one-way system there isn't any through traffic noise. Again the bed is comfortable with comfy duvet and plump pillows.

Room 7 is on the 2nd floor and at the front but bathroom has a rear aspect. The bathroom has a spa bath which I took advantage of! Just remember not to put in too much bubble bath!

Now the food!

Never had a bad meal, every morsel enjoyed and some photographed and uploaded to facebook. Bad point is that they don't do food on Sundays but even the chef is allowed a day off. Steaks cooked as I want them not as some chefs dictate, crunchy and fluffy chips in a bucket and puddings to swoon over!

It is a great place to stay and I would recommend the Georgian House Hotel to anyone staying in Whitehaven.

Room Tip: All the rooms that I stayed in are great but if you don't do stairs the room 3 is only one fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunedinhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
415 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Whitehaven seems to have a lack of visitor accommodation but luckily it does gave this little gem. Great looking building, nice room, tasty breakfast and ultimately good value. Shame about the parking situation but tge multi staff just down the road doesn't cost much.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A work colleague, and myself, stayed for one night, at this excellent hotel, in November 2013.
We booked two single rooms, but were given two double rooms, at the same cost.
The room was decorated, to a high standard, and the bathroom was fitted with a 'whirlpool bath'. There were coffee and tea making facilities, in the room, along with crisps, chocolate biscuits, sweets, etc.
The breakfast, was first class, as was the service.
An excellent hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Top quality standard if accommodation with friendly service.
Impressive individual bathrooms in all rooms that have stayed

Some interesting Halloween decoration this time of year worth a visit to see for this alone!

Dinner Steaks and breakfast punching well above it's weight in the region.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitehaven
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Whitehaven Hotel
3.9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#2 of 3 in St Bees
3.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Grove Court Hotel
Grove Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cleator
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 3 in St Bees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Corner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgian House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgian House Hotel

Property: Georgian House Hotel
Address: 8-11 Church Street, Whitehaven CA28 7AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Whitehaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitehaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Georgian House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Georgian House, Whitehaven accommodation. Set amidst the stunning conservation area surrounding the pretty town of Whitehaven and Winner of the Best Accommodation Provider for two years, The Georgian House Hotel provides exceptional accommodation, the finest cuisine and a genuinely warm welcome. A holiday, short break or visit to The Georgian House Hotel places you at the heart of Whitehaven town centre with easy access to the many local attractions and amenities. Whitehaven is located on the popular west coast of Cumbria, at the edge of the Lake District, where some of the most beautiful and scenic countryside in England can be enjoyed. Stay in comfort, Whitehaven & Cumbria Hotel & Restaurant. Whether you are staying in Whitehaven for business or pleasure, The Georgian House Hotel will make your stay a delight. From the great service, freshly prepared meals, attractive décor, comfortable rooms, hearty breakfasts and modern facilities, to the friendly service and excellent location – your stay will be memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Georgian House Hotel Whitehaven, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing