We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB FRESHLY PREPARED FOOD.”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #21 of 33 Restaurants in Wigton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Embleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERB FRESHLY PREPARED FOOD.”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I went with my wife and children for Sunday lunch. I decided to go for the special Fish and chips recommended by the Landlord. It was one of the nicest battered fish I have tasted (Large fish and no bones) My wife had the Turkey with large selection of fresh vegtables which she said was beautiful. My Daughter had Chicken curry, very nice. My Son had half portion of sweet and sour chicken, he loved it. ( Enough for a adult) Try for your self, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    11
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Glad we gave it a try”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

After many tales locally about this pub it was time to decide for ourselves. A bright and cheerful welcome awaited us and the menu looked like good standard pub grub-just what we wanted! A very good portion of well cooked and tasty food was presented to us and devoured gratefully. Pleasant staff and surroundings, but sadly needs a bit more atmosphere, so I would recommend a visit, go on give it go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakesman95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New Tenants”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

As stated in the review by Jax S The Grehound Inn now has new tenants, and a chef, who are trying very hard to repair the damage caused by the previous manager. We have also eaten at The Greyhound several times over the past few weeks, and on each occasion have received a warm welcome, and had an excellent meal at a reasonable price.
Please give these new tenants the support they deserve.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DIANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stourbridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“First visit, won't be the last”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were recommended by owners of Limestone Lodges and it lived up to expectations. Food excellent , made very welcome. Best steak I have ever had. Will visit again this Friday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gilldstourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rocky road”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It is confusing to read the reviews if you don't know the story behind the ups and downs of this village pub. It has had some excellent owners who have provided excellent food and some absolute shockers. The manager who was in charge until fairly recently was probably the worst of the bad ones and the pubs reputation suffered for this. However there are now new tenants in the pub who have employed an excellent local chef and it's on the way up again. We have eaten here several times in the past 3 weeks and each time it has been excellent. The pub is starting to get busier again after everybody stopped going due to the terrible "welcome" that was dished out by the previous manager. We can definitely recommend this pub for it's welcome and it's food now. The food is very fresh and homemade and VERY good value for money. All in all the new manager has an up hill struggle but with the standard of food and warm welcome from the staff they should soon have a thriving business with lots of positive feedback. Good luck it is great to see The Greyhound being run as it should be again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Wigton, Cumbria
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing