We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very average meals” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #18 of 32 Restaurants in Wigton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very average meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

waitress very polite.drinks order came wrong.chips good.no VEG with 2 of the mains.
the 1 main with veg was MIXED FROZEN VEG +a little fresh carrot mash.
portion size good food hot.but left feeling not very good value for money.compared to
other pubs in area.(live locally)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank 741rsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
We are sorry you were not completely satisfied, and we will look at rectifying some of the points you made, thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    11
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We decided to give the Greyhound another go after a disappointing meal a few months ago.
The staff were very welcoming and friendly. I ordered the Lamb Cobbler, which was just a lamb stew (no cobbler) it was served with mashed swede and frozen vegetables! Two friends ordered the lasagne which they said was very nice but was served with frozen garlic bread and a salad, bizarrely consisting of lettuce, cucumber, strawberries, tinned pineapple, mango and grated cheese?! A group sat on another table also commented that this was an ‘interesting’ combination.
We were still hungry so decided to order dessert despite the unsatisfactory main meals. One of us ordered the bread and butter pudding which was bland and left uneaten (this was not charged to the bill but a replacement was not offered), I ordered cheesecake which was not homemade and was still frozen in the middle. The dessert menu was quite extensive but few of them seemed homemade, they should consider offering a smaller list of freshly prepared desserts.
The service was on good but we will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank KD234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we always appreciate genuine feed back, although on this occasion we cannot take too seriously as we have never put mango, pineapple and grated cheese on our salads? We also note that this is your one and only review and suggest you take the time to read the guidelines on writing reviews if you decide to review any future business and there staff may be effected by incorrect comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is the second time we've visited the Greyhound and the meal was better than the last. The young waitress looked as if it was her first night, she was nervous but she managed. We just arrived in time because they started turning people away, they were fully booked, which is always a good sign. I had sizzling chicken you had a choice of hot or mild, I had the hot with home made chips, lip smacking, my partner had the lamb Henry, it was like a lamb stew with dumplings, too many dumplings, two would have sufficed, this came with fresh veg. We will be back the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Manager at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
594 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
“Very good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our first visit since it came under new management and we were pleasantly surprised. We hadn't booked for Sunday lunch but there were plenty of tables. Service was quick and the waitresses all very pleasant. The refurbed dining room is a great improvement. The Sunday roasts and the puddings were very tasty and the portions were healthy. The only thing I would say is that £10.50 is probably expensive for a Sunday roast, while £12.50 and £14.50 for two and three courses respectively is very good value. We rarely go out for Sunday lunch but I'd happily go back to The Greyhound.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your review, and as of this week are reducing the cost of Sunday lunches from £10.50 to £7.99. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have eaten at the Greyhound 3 times on a Wednesday evening before quiz night and on each occasion the food and service has been excellent. After these visits, I was raving about The Greyhound.
However, I visited with my family on Sunday for Fathers Day and was bitterly disappointed. We had to wait for a considerable amount of time for our meals and when they finally arrived, one dish was missing as the waitress had not ordered this. There was no apology, and we were left to eat our meals while our son waited for his. I would have asked for our meals to be taken back but the waitress couldn't wait to go and hide in the kitchen!!! No one visited our table to even ask if everything was ok. This is totally unacceptable.
We had to go and find a waitress again to request condiments etc which then took ages to arrive. When the desserts arrived they were plonked in front of us with no cutlery, and I had to go and get this myself. The attitude of the waitress that served us with very disappointing, she really could not be bothered. We spent £75 and were left feeling very disappointed indeed.
Having said all that, I really cant fault the service on Wednesday night, the lady is wonderful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea M, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your review, and apologise for your poor experience on Father's Day, it was our first experience of Father's Day running a pub restaurant after only two months in business and still finding our feet, we were totally unprepared for the volume of people that came that day, and instead of turning more people away we tried to accommodate too many walk ins. This resulted in poor service and poor meals, which we hold our hands up to. We have leaned the lessons from that day, and improved our booking system, and manage the walk ins better, turning people away when necessary. We now always advise people to book in advance, and will not accept any walk ins next Father's Day if we are fully booked. I hope you will return and let us show you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Wigton, Cumbria
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing