We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with a friendly welcome”
Review of Wallace Lane Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wallace Lane Farm
Ranked #2 of 9 Wigton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here for a night back in April in the farmhouse. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, offering advice on things to do in the area, local attractions and directions. The bedroom we had was clean, warm, comfortable, and the choice of breakfast was good, the food being nice and tasty. Overall a beautiful farmhouse in a nice rural location which is good value for money. Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibt70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Wallace Lane Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We enjoyed a very relaxing 2 night, bed and breakfast stay at Wallace Lane Farm. This is by far the best accommodation we have ever stayed in, in the UK.
We booked a family room which actually consisted of 3 separate rooms. A large bedroom, complete with double bed, single bed and the option of a put you up bed. A separate single room and a large, private bathroom. All rooms were tastefully decorated, very comfortable with lots of extra touches such as homemade biscuits, dressing gowns and plenty of lovely thick towels.
The bathroom was very spacious with a separate bath and large walk in shower and lovely views across the fields.
We also had the use of a separate lounge downstairs, complete with comfy sofas, TV, DVD, wood burner and games for the children.
Breakfast was delicious and there were various choices on offer including smoked salmon and scrambled egg! All served in a bright conservatory with views over the hills.
The owners, Janet and John were friendly, helpful and very kind. They took time to chat to us and our children. They showed us around the property including the new wooden cabins in the field next door, which are very well appointed and offer an interesting option for future visits.
Overall I would describe the accommodation and our stay as extremely comfortable, homely and relaxing. Oh and not forgetting there is an abundance of stunning countryside to be explored including the beautiful Lake District which is only a short drive away.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

First time stay in a B&B would recommend it to anyone a lovely couple very welcoming !! Well at new year we stayed in a York 5 star hotel I didn't recommend it to no one !! But we stayed over night as we were attending a local wedding !! A lovely country farm spotless clean, Beds towels tea making facility's little home make biscuits in the Room !! we were a bit late up for breakfast but it was waiting for us full English, would love to stay in the summer sometime to get the most of its lovely views

Room Tip: We had a lovely front of the house room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for one night when visiting the area for a short stay. Janet and John have made Wallace Lane Farm into a wonderful place to stay. Whether you book a room in the house, as we did, or stay in one of the cottages, chalets, pitch your tent or bring your caravan the facilities are great. Campers will be delighted with the toilet/shower block! Our King room in the house was tastefully decorated with a lovely large shower room. Very comfortable. We had a lovely cooked breakfast but other choices are available. Definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 2, the King room was excellent but I think all the rooms in the house will be good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandjs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed at Wallace Lane Farm caravan Site for 3 nights from 31/10/2013. Owners Janet and John very welcoming, facilities very clean and in good condition. Showers are superb. Pitches are all hard-standing,supplied with electric water and drainage.
The only downside is the sea of mud which is outside the caravan door. Please,please,please extend the hard-standing to allow us to walk without sinking into the quagmire that appears when it rains.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanAndSueat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stopped here for the night whilst travelling back from Scotland. We arrived late in the evening and were greeted with a very warm welcome. The rooms were well equipped, spotless and cosy. Breakfast was delicious,very filling and locally produced. Everything was off high quality so I could not fault anything and would strongly recommend this place to anyone. It is not far from the motorway and is to close to a local village. I do hope to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Myself and my 3 teenage boys stayed here on our way home from Scotland to break the journey. It was 10 miles from the motorway and just perfect. a warm welcome was waiting and the rooms were well equipped and warm and cosy.
I would definitely stay again though for longer. The breakfast was great, filling and all local produce.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigton
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
127 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
6.3 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#15 of 20 in Carlisle
226 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
244 reviews
8.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wallace Lane Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wallace Lane Farm

Address: Brocklebank, Wigton CA7 8DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Wigton
Price Range: £71 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wallace Lane Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wallace Lane Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wallace Lane Farm Wigton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing