We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
71
45
15
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
45
15
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakone nighttea and coffee facilitiescountry hotela family run hotelstilton saucecock and bullhot showerfriendly atmosphereexcellent value for moneyold fashionedattending a wedding nearbyat no extra costyour likingpoached eggssunday lunchrelaxing night
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Wheyrigg Hall Hotel easy to find just off the B5302 North of Wigton, fast road so the Hotel driveway comes up on you quickly. We stayed one night in early Oct and found the staff friendly. Found our way to a little bar area where the reception is, room three was a large double with shower over bath just in case you want to steep your bits, comfortable bed, room was warm & clean. Food in the restaurant is served quickly, home cut chips brilliant, ample portions, try the steak, followed by eve's pudding, proper comfort food, other tastes are catered for, salads and the like but we didn't experience them, good hearty breakfast cooked to order. All in, a Hotel that ticked the boxes for us, .

Room Tip: room three was ok for us
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Fozzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the Lake District in Sept on our way up to Scotland
The rooms were very clean and tidy.
Staff are brilliant and the food was excellent.
All drinks and food are reasonably priced.
Thank you :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaunat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We visited here on a Sunday for lunch, we have 2 kids aged 5 and 6. We were made very welcome, and the meals were all homemade and delicious. The kids enjoyed having a short play outside in the fantastic play park whilst we finnished our meal. Would highly recommend for an atmospheric lovely meal.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as 2 couples whilst touring round the Lake District on motorcycles. Our room was a little small compared to the other's & they got the bath (!!!) but perfectly adequate. Everyone was really friendly & welcoming. Bar prices were reasonable, as were the food prices. Quality of the food was great. Good, honest home cooking. Would definitely return & thanks for making us feel so at home

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Met here for a friends and family get together, could not fault it. There were eight of us including two children everyone really enjoyed the food, the portions were generous but without over facing you. The restaurant catered for my husband who is coeliac and were willing to give the children food from the adult menu but just smaller portions. Can recommend the 16oz gammon steak, probably the nicest I have ever eaten. The sticky toffee pudding was lovely too, the staff were great, very efficient and friendly without being over the top. had a pleasant surprise when we paid the bill, excellent value for money. A perfect evening.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaz195723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews