We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, freshly prepared food”

Greenhill Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 33 Restaurants in Wigton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good service, freshly prepared food”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had read previous reviews that had criticised service and time for food. It was a quiet evening but the service was friendly, attentive and made you feel a welcome guest. We were advised that the food was cooked to order and as I was having a special chicken dish and no starter it would be a bit of a wait. The food was excellent, well cooked and presented and simple tasty vegetables to complement the richer main course. Neither of us was going to have a sweet but the choice was good and the desert again very good. Tables are large so no fighting for space and lovely view out over the front gardens

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    4
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monday night meal for 12”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Once again on Monday night whilst at Greenhill in a group of 12 the food was first class we are regular diners at Greenhill and always feel very satisfied with the quality, quantity and value for money. I have also had a business lunch twice in the last fortnight and the ham sandwiches were also beautiful and very nicely served with side salad. The staff are always very pleasant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A rough sports bar?”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We came here for a meal with friends and whilst the meal was fine (for a bar meal, not fine dining), the experience was spoiled by the fact that there were many drunken people in to watch the boxing.

Sorry but we thought that this was a country house hotel, not some kind of sports bar.

The interior is pretty dated and you have to drive or get a taxi so we won't be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank billyridley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea. Brilliant”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

22 of us went for afternoon tea for a birthday celebration. Its was lovely. Good variety of savouries and sweets and tea and coffee refilled as much as we needed. Staff were friendly and helpfull and we even got boxes at the end to take the left over food home. Cannot fault it and will definatelt be returning.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jsrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great home made chips!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Really nice lunch in warm and comfortable surrounding and good service. Really good for larger groups for evening meal especially in the conservatory.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanGIreby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenhill Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greenhill Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing