We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gastronomic gem”
Review of Monkey tree

Monkey tree
Ranked #1 of 36 Restaurants in Wigton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A beautiful Bistro/Deli offering wonderful food & service in a unique setting.Bringing a feel of the mediterranean to the U.KTapas evenings & occasional themed nightsFully licensed
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and I were recommended to try The Monkey Tree and we did so one lunch time. How good was it? Well, we keep going back. It may only be small but that's what gives it its atmosphere. You know you've entered something special from the moment you walk through the door. The ground floor eating area is lively, there's a real buzz about the place. The staff are very friendly, helpful and keen to ensure customers have a good eating experience. Downstairs offers a quieter and more intimate atmosphere. The food is all home made and tastes fantastic. If you do chance to look into the kitchen you'll find it spotless. The service is excellent too. It's rare that either of us rant about restaurants and bistros but The Monkey Tree deserves all the praise we can give it. Wigton should be proud of it's little gastronomic gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Safetyman12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

What a wonderful review you have given us. Your review of your experience at Monkey tree is important to others who may consider visiting us. We offer our thanks to you for taking the time to submit a review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We had tapas this evening at the monkey tree and it was superb. The deserts topped a fabulous meal and the atmosphere and service were excellent.

Thank clairecc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our little bistro in such a lovely and positive way. Your opinion and experience matters to us.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Had been to an impressive Saturday night tapas meal so thought we 'd try a Wednesday lunchtime in Wigton- more a takeaway 'sandwich' shop and cafe during the day than a conventional deli ( ie not olives, cheeses, salamis etc to buy) . But there are a host of sandwiches/breads and especially homemade pastries to try ( plus soups); we had a pork pie and a cheesy/ onion tart with a selection of very different 'salads' chosen by staff - tasty large plates at £4.99 each. Good value, and very different from tapas meal.

Thank smallportions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Many thanks for your review we are really pleased that you find our food interesting, enjoyable and reasonably priced. If it was very busy when you came in you may not have noticed the tall fridge next to the food counter. We stock 5 different varieties of olives, balsamic onions, sweet stuffed chillies, sun dried tomatoes, capers, pesto, salami, chorizo, pancetta, roquefort cheese, stilton, parmesan, brie de meaux, feta and paneer. We also sell frozen filo pastry speciality loose nuts, local honey, local chutneys and jams, our own bottled tomato sauces and bottled aubergines. We also have a range of loose dried good such as black mustard seeds, sumac, ras el hanout and lots of other spices and herbs. We also have free bags of breadcrumbs.

Look forward to seeing you again
Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

From the moment you walk into the Monkey Tree you are made to feel very welcome, whether ordering lunch to take out, or dining in. There is a real buzz about this delightful little bistro creating a great atmosphere, and the food is superb, all home made with fresh ingredients. The service is excellent and the staff are very attentive, nothing is too much trouble for them.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi
Many thanks for your lovely review. We try to differentiate between night and day in the deli and it seems we are on the right track. Your comments are really appreciated.
Many thanks for your continued support.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked the tapas evening for my husbands birthday. As frequent visitors to areas of Spain that are renowned for tapas we've always avoided having it at home. But the menu looked so inviting and we certainly weren't disappointed. Beautiful food with a few extra dishes more than we pre-ordered as new recipes were being tested to add to the menu. Everything was made with high quality ingredients which really makes all the difference. Not sure how we managed to scoff the lot - it was just too good to leave!!! We even had puddings but next time know they are a very generous size and one sweet with 2 spoons would have been enough. Wine sensibly priced and delicious coffee. Lovely candle lit atmosphere and we could have swore they'd pinched our ipod as we have every piece of music they played. The service was super efficient and very friendly - just watching them dash up and down stairs wore us out. Our only complaint is that we haven't eaten here until now as we've been missing a treat - but we're sure we'll be frequent visitors now. x

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chinstraps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Well what an amazing review you have given us. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Monkey tree. We are passionate about the food we cook and serve, we are passionate about presentation and service and we are passionate about overall excellent customer care. We look forward to seeing more of you. Thank you once again.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey tree also viewed

 

Been to Monkey tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing