We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Monkey tree

Monkey tree
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Wigton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A beautiful Bistro/Deli offering wonderful food & service in a unique setting.Bringing a feel of the mediterranean to the U.KTapas evenings & occasional themed nightsFully licensed
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Amazing,
Exceptional food,friendly staff and in a relaxed setting. What more could you ask for and it's all within walking distance.
Well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alectricain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about our little Bistro...every review counts.
See you again soon

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this cute little place whilst trying to find a nice pub for a beer. We ended up having a coffee and a delicious slate of Mediterranean tapas! Much better! We popped in for a snack and a drink and were so pleasantly surprised! We were served by three charming ladies in a relaxed atmosphere. Every single thing on the slate was fresh and delicious and the ladies substituted one of the items without a fuss. Excellent food, ambience and service. An additional and perfect birthday treat was the delicious lemon, orange and semolina cake which was moist and tangy. We will definitely be back for a proper meal and tapas next time we are in wigton!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Niknaknoonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I remember serving you and your little boy saying that I hadn't served the birthday girl first...sorry about that, I would have popped a candle in your cake had we known. All reviews are very important to us so thank you once again. We look forward to seeing you in the future and just give us prior warning if its a celebration and we will endeavour to add a little extra magic.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What an amazing place !
The atmosphere is fab and the staff were sooooo friendly.
The display of salads a feast of colour and delicious too.
Hope to return again very soon. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GillB529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about our little Bistro we really are thrilled when people do this. Our food is made with love and our customer care is delivered in such a way that our customers feel valued and their experience is memorable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This bistro is hidden away next to the library but if you are quick you might get a table at lunchtime as it is well known with locals and those from further afield. jil and Ishkka offer a range of hot and cold dishes including chicken and chorizo pies! The homemade pitta bread filled with your own choice are lovely. If you are looking for a coffee stop try it with a toasted teacake - how does she get that cinnamon taste?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to review our little Bistro. We are really pleased that you had an enjoyable experience with us. We like to think our Bistro is more than an eatery and that is has become a community meeting place. So we are extremely pleased you decided to drop by. See you again soon.

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Whether it's a quick coffee, light lunch to eat in, take away lunch or evening meal Monkey tree has never failed to deliver. Jil & Ishka provide Wigton with a very special place, friendly, clean, fab food & a great coffee (can't comment on the tea, don't drink the stuff!) I, my family & friends all agree its a little gem. One comment due to the special bijou nature of the establishment, wheelchairs could be a problem, if you do use a wheelchair & can manage to walk a little don't be put off, go in grab a chair & enjoy, also I bet Jil & Ishka would help cos that's what they're like. Defo the best place to eat Wigton.

Thank Juda96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkey T, Owner at Monkey tree, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.It is so important to us when people who have visited us take the time to write a review we really appreciate it. thank you once again

Best wishes
Jil & Ishka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey tree also viewed

 

Been to Monkey tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing