We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage and lovely welcome special...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wigton, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jacks23
leicester
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and lovely welcome special goody basket and home made cakes waiting for us”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here from 24th May and loved the cottage and the area, our two dogs Charlie and Alfie had a fantastic time swimming in the lakes. The cottage, the landlords and the weather we're all fantastic and we had a very relaxing time cannot wait to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
It is great to hear that you had a wonderful relaxing holiday at Piggery Cottage, it sounds like it ticked all the boxes, and your dogs certainly sound like they had a whale of a time swimming in the area! We hope that you return for another holiday very very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elapatric...
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just returned from a week at Piggery Cottage and feel very relaxed.
The owners make you feel very welcome from the minute you arrive, there is a lovely basket of treats and delicious home made cakes, perfect after the journey there.
The cottage is very cosy, with a warm atmosphere, helped by the underfloor heating and comfortable furnishings, and everything you require is provided.
It is in a good location on a farm next to the owners home, with beautiful countryside on your doorstep, and not far from Keswick, Carlisle and Cockermouth.
We will definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your time at Piggery Cottage. Arriving to such a fabulous basket of goodies must have made you feel very welcome indeed, we will be sure to pass on your praise of the owners baking! It is wonderful to hear that everything you needed was to hand and that there was plenty to do in the area, we hope that you return for another holiday very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G4BYG
Hull,UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our stay at Piggery Cottage was blessed with fine weather. Always a bonus in this North Western part of the UK.
Lorna and Jim were extremely helpful and friendly and a joy to exchange stories with.
The cottage is what we would call "superior" with every convenience available.
Even set aside a large enclosed field for our Greyhound Cassie to stretch out.
With Keswick and Cockermouth being only 30 minutes drive away the location is ideal for exploring the Northern Lakes and coast.
Nice quiet location for peaceful relaxation.
We intend to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobkimmin...
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dog friendly, peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Spent a week away from the hustle and bustle just the two of us and the pooches. This choice was selected as it is advertised as dog friendly. It is not only dog friendly it is dog fantastic. The Owners have a new puppy themselves having recently lost their older dogs, so are completely intune with the pooches needs. It has quiet unused (at the time we were there) paddocks for use by your canines and this makes it invaluable if you have weather as we did , 6days of rain and high winds, but thats Cumbria for you. Be respectful of the surrounding livestock and you will have a fantasticly peaceful break.
The accomodation is recently completed but homely and one of the best equipped and goody packed that we have visited in the lakes (but I wont spoil the surprises!). Lounge and both bedrooms spacious and relaxing. Upstairs shower room and downstairs toilet small but easy to use. Be mindful when booking that if you intend to self cater for more than two adults and two small children, it will take some discipline in the food prep area as it is not large. Preparing and sitting and eating in the kitchen/diner is a challenge for two adults. More than that could prove interesting. That said we managed easily so dont let it put you off if you're not intending to eat in all the time. Access too and from is easy and the owners are very freindly and have some great tales to tell. Will definately use again if we go to this part of Cumbria again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Weather......
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Miss This at Your Peril”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

It was remiss of me not to write a review earlier, I've only just realised I hadn't done it. We spent Xmas at the Piggery and it was an absolute delight. Beautifully decorated for the occasion, Lorna did herself proud.

For anyone wanting an above average break, this is for you. From the moment you arrive, until the moment you leave, you are made to feel .......well, ......just part of things. An excellent welcome pack is just the beginning, Comfortable, clean beyond words, restful, warm, a feeling of country living, with chickens, cats, dogs, sheep and a couple of horses for good measure to welcome you when you step outside each morning. Bliss.
Ideal for the Northern lakes, and all that they offer, the Piggery is an easy drive from North or South, and an easy 15/20 minutes from Carlisle on a straight road.
My congratulations to Jim & Lorna on an excellent country retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the welcome
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review of Piggery Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas with us and would be delighted to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elke B
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow what a treasure”
Reviewed 5 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Piggery cottage is just stunning. The views are fantastic. If you are looking for peace and quiet then Piggery Cottage is just the place. You wouldnt have know that it was on a working farm. The owners Lorna and Jim were very welcoming and the welcome pack that was left for us was more than you would ever expect. Bread, butter, milk, fresh orange juice, home made lemon drizzle cake (our favourite), home made biscuits, crisps, sweets, dog treats. We didnt want for anything.

Wigton is a just a short drive away and has various shops, takeaways and more. We have recommended Piggery Cottage to friends already and will be returning next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: there wasnt anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
What a great review - thank you so much! It sounds like you had a fantastic time and could really relax and unwind at Piggery Cottage. We cannot wait to have you (and your friends!) book with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaggieGle...
Glenrothes
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Piggery Cottage is a well maintained high quality cosy cottage on a working farm. Owner Lorna is very generous with an amazing welcome pack of home baking, butter, bread, milk fresh orange juice, sweets and biscuits! Nice garden area outside where the chickens visited looking for tit bits. Wigton is a five minute drive. Lots of extras. If you are looking for a peaceful quiet holidays - Piggery Cottage is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet.
Liked least: Mattress a bit soft for me.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing