We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love to eat here.”
Review of Greenhill Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wigton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Went with my parents for lunch on Tuesday.special menu on tuesdays,£9 for two cources.
As always the choice was great.The hotel is a beautiful building and everyone is made to feel welcome by the friendly staff,even if you are just there for a meal and not staying there.
The food is always good and I can honestly say that I have never had a bad meal there in the years that we have been there.
Mothers day lunch is a must each year and we always book well in advance to avoid missing out.
You may look at this hotel and think that stopping by for lunch would be too expensive but go in and give it a try,you will go back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank SeasickonUllswater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at Greenhill hotel in June this year and we had a fantastic time. The support and service from the staff was excellent from booking the venue right up to our big day. They were so helpful and nothing was ever too much to ask. The food was great and the venue really catered for all our guests. Thank you for making our day so special and I would highly recommend booking this venue x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lsroee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Went for a 2course Tuesday Lunch Deal for £9. The food was delicious ,well presented and fresh.The hotel and its grounds are beautiful.The food came promptly .The hotel was quiet so would expect that.The menu for this deal was acceptable,the drinks are expensive almost £5 for 2soft drinks and one of those was soda and cordial. The girls serving were very pretty but had not a squat of interest in customer service,they did the bare minimum,we actually had a giggle at how bad one of them was ,she was that bad,I suspect she had interests in the kitchen that were more important. Would return ,without a doubt ,even for the comedy value.

Room Tip: Go on spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amigolovelyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I echo several previous comments on the good quality of the food, which is let down by the inattentiveness and disinterest of the staff. We were almost the only people in the restaurant yet everything seemed to move very slowly with a long time between courses. I did enjoy the food which was well presented and beautifully tasting. Not really encouraged to come back though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank chloeEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Went with family for a meal on Easter Sunday. Food was good but the service was poor. Our starter and mains came on time, but then the staff went on walkabout and were not interested. Must improve or will not come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackcats085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Booked afternoon tea for Nan's 96th birthday. It was a lovely spread and there was too much for the 4 of us to eat! We asked for the remainder to be boxed up, and this was no trouble, however some of the things we sent back, ie sausage rolls and millionaires shortbread were missing. When we enquirer, we were told someone in the kitchen must have been peckish!! Charming!! And this is the second time it's happened to us!!! All in all, was a lovely afternoon but the dishonesty over the leftovers let it down.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after a family wedding, all the staff we met were fantastic and were very helpful and professional, nothing was to much trouble.

We had a large room with a modern bathroom overlooking the front of the hotel which was very large with plenty of natural light and modern shower room . We also stayed for Sunday lunch the day after the wedding which was excellent food at a very reasonable price.

We would definately return for Sunday Lunch, excellent value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the front of the hotel seemed bigger than those at the rear.Some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wigton
0.0 mi away
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
Wheyrigg Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wigton
128 reviews
8.5 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,674 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
14.7 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,014 reviews
11.5 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenhill Hotel

Address: Red Dial, Wigton CA7 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Wigton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wigton
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, central location to northern lakes & Southern Scotland. Georgian architecture, grade 2 listed building with great grounds and stunning features. Fresh seasonal food, Sunday lunches, afternoon teas, weddings, corporate & special occasions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenhill Hotel Wigton, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing