We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, tidy and well priced”
Review of Hall Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hall Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I prefer not to stay in large impersonal chain hotels as older/independent hotels can end up being far more welcoming and homely. However, hotels in older buildings can be a lottery in terms of the state of repair etc. The Hall Park, as a Victorian building, has been very well looked after and is clean and in a very good state of repair. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Room was well appointed and quiet, so a good night's sleep
The only area that could be improved was the quality of the breakfast which, whilst certainly not bad, could have been improved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jschwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lovely hotel/B&B in Workington. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are of a good standard and always lovely and clean! Breakfasts are excellent, lots of choice and nothing's ever too much trouble which is a refreshing change these days!
Good value for money too!

Room Tip: Room 14 on ground floor is excellent for families, though as there are all round windows, can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TFStBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I must confess to feeling a little uneasy when we first arrived to see a sign above reception, 'Arrive a stranger, depart a friend'. I often get cross when I read business' 'strap-lines', most of them are meaningless at best. The welcome my wife and I received when we arrived with our eight year old granddaughter was very warm, caring and genuine. We settled into our spacious, clean, comfortable family en-suite room. As we had had a long day, we decided to eat dinner in the hotel, what a good decision that was. The food was good quality, freshly cooked and the portions were large; just what we needed, and the price was very reasonable.
Very comfortable beds gave us all a good night's sleep, and we woke refreshed and ready for the day ahead. Breakfast was superb with a wide selection of cereals and fresh fruit salad and a cooked breakfast of tremendous quality.
This place is a little gem , for which the expression, don't judge a book by its cover could have been penned. The owners and all the staff are very attentive with nothing too much trouble.
Oh, and the sign over reception, the wording and the sentiment are just perfect! If you are planning to stay in Workington, go and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is not what I expected. The service was first class and all the staff were very warm and friendly and the cost was great value for money. The rooms were of a good size and were very clean and in good decorative order. The food was excellent quality and again superb value but the choice was very limited. The bar prices were exceptionally cheap but perhaps that is typical for the area. What was a little odd was the fact that towels were not changed and there were no soaps, shampoos etc unlike every other hotel I have ever visited. I'm sure these would have been provided had we asked but should you have to request basics? Overall I would not hesitate staying there again but I would only recommend it to people I know. If you are used to the finer things in life then this is probably not the hotel for you but if you want a warm, friendly and good value place to stay then this should more than fit the bill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughey580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We recently visited The Hall Park as travelling supporters for a rugby match...Well,all I can say is what a pleasant surprise we had...A great welcome,great service and an overall great experience.

This place is where you NEED to stay in Workington...The hosts are extremely friendly and will do anything to make you're stay a good one...We were allowed to check in early as the rooms were ready and check out slightly late....The rooms were very good with superb en suite facilities...Breakfast was good as was the service...The bar was fabulous as was the service...What more can I say about this place.....Oh yes and thanks for the lift to the Bowling Alley(at 7 O'Clock on a saturday evening with a busy bar)....If ever we are up this way again we will be back...Thankyou,thankyou,thankyou...

Room Tip: We were by the roadside and I live in the countryside with no noise at all...I guess if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midaschan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Stayed on night at this hotel on business trip. The hotel was in a good location, the rooms were large, clean and comfortable. I received a friendly welcome. The breakfast was very good on the whole a nice hotel with friendly staff

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank moredela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

As you enter the hotel, is a sign that says "Enter as strangers, leave a friends!". This is the perfect accurate description of this incredibly welcoming hotel.

From the delicious home cooked food, warm rooms, social bar area and personal service, and a lot more inexpensive than some in the area, this is the perfect place to stay.

Stayed for the night on business, and was stranded with no taxi (companies in the area seemed very unreliable). So they gave me a lift on a bitterly cold December morning without hesitation. Told them to charg the room extra for this, they wouldn't hear of it!

Something heading their way soon as a thank you, but a good review is well deserved!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NetHelpDesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Workington
1.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#4 of 9 in Workington
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
7 mi away
The Trout Hotel
The Trout Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cockermouth
726 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
Travelodge Cockermouth Hotel
#8 of 9 in Cockermouth
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Park Hotel

Address: 23 Carlton Road, Workington CA14 4BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Workington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range: £72 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hall Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Park Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing