We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hotel”
Review of Hall Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hall Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Workington
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The staff were very friendly . The rooms were a decent size. The room and bathroom were very clean I cant comment on the food as i didnt have a meal there Would definitely stop here again, i thought this hotel was good value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzycleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
39
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed 5 nights and found all staff very friendly and helpfull, rooms were good & clean, food good, drinks in the bar were the cheapest i've payed anywhere. nothing was to much trouble, we will be going back later in the year. EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: If you are disabled then ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed here on the night before and after we cycled the coast to coast. Everyone very friendly, breakfast arranged 1 hour early for us so that we could get away. Cycle stored safely indoors for us. Rooms very clean and to a high standard. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June whilst visiting a friend. The hotel is very easy to find as it is actually on the junction with the A66 but there is no traffic noise.

We received a warm welcome and were given a nice, sizeable room which was very clean.

Sleep quality very good followed by a very good breakfast in a room where there was a TV at low volume with the morning news on. We found this to be a pleasant change as some smaller hotels can be deathly quiet when you enter the dining room but this was fine.

Would probably stay here again if we went to Workington.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brufsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I prefer not to stay in large impersonal chain hotels as older/independent hotels can end up being far more welcoming and homely. However, hotels in older buildings can be a lottery in terms of the state of repair etc. The Hall Park, as a Victorian building, has been very well looked after and is clean and in a very good state of repair. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Room was well appointed and quiet, so a good night's sleep
The only area that could be improved was the quality of the breakfast which, whilst certainly not bad, could have been improved.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Lovely hotel/B&B in Workington. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are of a good standard and always lovely and clean! Breakfasts are excellent, lots of choice and nothing's ever too much trouble which is a refreshing change these days!
Good value for money too!

Room Tip: Room 14 on ground floor is excellent for families, though as there are all round windows, can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFStBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton Pontefract
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I must confess to feeling a little uneasy when we first arrived to see a sign above reception, 'Arrive a stranger, depart a friend'. I often get cross when I read business' 'strap-lines', most of them are meaningless at best. The welcome my wife and I received when we arrived with our eight year old granddaughter was very warm, caring and genuine. We settled into our spacious, clean, comfortable family en-suite room. As we had had a long day, we decided to eat dinner in the hotel, what a good decision that was. The food was good quality, freshly cooked and the portions were large; just what we needed, and the price was very reasonable.
Very comfortable beds gave us all a good night's sleep, and we woke refreshed and ready for the day ahead. Breakfast was superb with a wide selection of cereals and fresh fruit salad and a cooked breakfast of tremendous quality.
This place is a little gem , for which the expression, don't judge a book by its cover could have been penned. The owners and all the staff are very attentive with nothing too much trouble.
Oh, and the sign over reception, the wording and the sentiment are just perfect! If you are planning to stay in Workington, go and see for yourself, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Workington hotels
1.8 mi away
Hunday Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Melbreak Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Washington Central Hotel
Washington Central Hotel
#4 of 9 in Workington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Waverley Hotel
Waverley Hotel
#6 of 9 in Workington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#9 of 9 in Workington
2.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Old Ginn House Inn
The Old Ginn House Inn
#5 of 9 in Workington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hall Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hall Park Hotel

Property: Hall Park Hotel
Address: 23 Carlton Road, Workington CA14 4BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Workington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Workington
#1 Family Hotel in Workington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Workington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hall Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hall Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Park Hotel Workington, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing